New Adult Books-on-CD

New Arrivals Added To Our Adult Books-on-CD Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Book-on-CD emails

Title Date addedsort icon
Grace - a novel by Deón, Natashia, author.

Grace - a novel

For a runaway slave in the 1840s South, life on the run can be just as dangerous as life under a sadistic master. That's what fifteen-year-old Naomi learns after she escapes the brutal confines of life on an Alabama plantation. Striking out on her own, she leaves behind her beloved Momma and sister Hazel and takes refuge in a Georgia brothel run by a freewheeling, gun-toting Jewish madam named Cynthia. There, amid a revolving door of gamblers, prostitutes, and drunks, Naomi falls into a star-cro

Aug 30, 2016
Face value - the hidden ways that beauty shapes women's lives by Whitefield-Madrano, Autumn.

Face value - the hidden ways that beauty shapes women's lives

A thought-provoking examination of how we think and talk about beauty today--and the unexpected and often positive ways that beauty shapes our lives.

Aug 30, 2016
Diary of an oxygen thief by

Diary of an oxygen thief

Say there was a novel in which Holden Caulfield was an alcoholic and Lolita was a photographer's assistant and, somehow, they met in Bright Lights, Big City. He's blinded by love. She by ambition. Diary of an Oxygen Thief is an honest, hilarious, and heartrending novel, but above all, a very real account of what people do to each other and what they allow to have done to them.

Aug 30, 2016
Book that matters most by Hood, Ann

Book that matters most

Aug 30, 2016
Apprentice in death by Robb, J. D., 1950-

Apprentice in death

The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people were dead at Central Park's ice skating rink. The victims, a talented young skater, a doctor, and a teacher. As random as random can be. It's up to Eve Dallas to find out the connection and find the killer.

Aug 30, 2016
Morgue- a life in death by DiMaio, Vincent

Morgue- a life in death

Aug 30, 2016
Old path, white clouds - walking in the footsteps of the Buddha by Nhất Hạnh, Thích, author.

Old path, white clouds - walking in the footsteps of the Buddha

The beautiful, classic recounting of the life and teachings of Gautama Buddha over the course of eighty years. It is retold alternately through the eyes of Svasti, the buffalo boy who provided kusa grass for the Buddha's enlightenment cushion, and the Buddha himself. Thich Nhat Hanh's style captures the clarity and serenity of the Buddha's life.

Aug 30, 2016
Mansfield Park by Austen, Jane, 1775-1817.

Mansfield Park

This tale revolves around Fanny Price, who lives in poverty until being sent to live with her wealthy Aunt Bertram. While received warmly at first, she is soon discovering that her aunt is losing interest in her presence. What unfolds is a life of cold neglect and further trouble with a dramatic family in her new lifestyle.

Aug 30, 2016
Illusion town by Castle, Jayne

Illusion town

Aug 30, 2016
Reasons to stay alive by Haig, Matt, 1975- author, narrator.

Reasons to stay alive

"Matt Haig's accessible and life-affirming memoir of his struggle with depression, and how his triumph over the illness taught him to live"--

Aug 30, 2016
Sting by Brown, Sandra, 1948- author.

Sting

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her.

Aug 30, 2016
Sunday kind of love by Garlock, Dorothy, author.

Sunday kind of love

Gwendolyn Foster is thrown when her boyfriend proposes to her in front of her parents. He's just the man her parents always dreamed she'd marry, but she has another dream altogether, to be a writer, and she won't rest until she makes that dream come true. Then Hank comes into her life. Drowning in grief and pain since his little brother died a few months ago, something inside Hank comes alive again when he sees Gwen. He wants to help her become a writer, but can they build a future together when

Aug 30, 2016
Pond by Bennett, Claire-Louise, author.

Pond

An unmarried young woman chronicles her life on the outskirts of a small coastal village.

Aug 30, 2016
The mind-gut connection - how the hidden conversation within our bodies impacts our mood, our choices, and our overall health by Mayer, Emeran A., author.

The mind-gut connection - how the hidden conversation within our bodies impacts our mood, our choices, and our overall health

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and body. We have all experienced the connection between our mind and our gut--the decision we made because it "felt right;" the butterflies in our stomach before a big meeting; the anxious stomach rumbling when we're stressed out. While the dialogue between the gut

Aug 30, 2016
First star I see tonight - a novel by Phillips, Susan Elizabeth, author.

First star I see tonight - a novel

Piper Dove is a woman with a dream to become the best detective in the city of Chicago. First job? Trail former Chicago Stars quarterback, Cooper Graham. Problem? Graham's spotted her, and he's not happy. Piper soon finds herself working for Graham himself, although not as the bodyguard he refuses to admit he so desperately needs. Instead, he's hired her to keep an eye on the employees at his exclusive new nightclub. But Coop's life might be in danger, and Piper's determined to protect him, whet

Aug 30, 2016
The couple next door by Lapeña, Shari, 1960- author.

The couple next door

""I read this novel at one sitting, absolutely riveted by the storyline. The suspense was beautifully rendered and unrelenting!"--Sue Grafton, New York Times bestselling author of X "Meticulously crafted and razor-sharp. THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR lingers long after you turn the final page."--Harlan Coben, #1New York Times bestselling author of Fool Me Once "Provocative and shocking."--Lisa Gardner, the New York Times bestselling author of Find Her How well do you know the couple next door? Or your hu

Aug 30, 2016
Arrowood - a novel by McHugh, Laura, author.

Arrowood - a novel

When Arden Arrowood was four years old, her two-year-old twin sisters were stolen from the front yard of their hometown of Keokuk, Iowa, on the Mississippi River while Arden watched. Twenty years later, she returns home to confront the darkest part of her past. As the mystery unravels, the novel explores the reliability of memory, the stories we tell ourselves, and the power of love.

Aug 30, 2016
The underground railroad - a novel by Whitehead, Colson, 1969- author.

The underground railroad - a novel

A magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape. Though they manage to find a station and head north, they are being hunted.

Aug 30, 2016
Thieving weasels by Taylor, Billy, 1960- author.

Thieving weasels

"Just when Skip O'Rourke thinks he's finally free of his con-artist family, they drag him back to Long Island for one last scam ... but nothing about this con is what it seems"--

Aug 30, 2016