New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Title Date addedsort icon
False Wall by Heley, Veronica

False Wall

Feb 8, 2016
Even dogs in the wild - a novel by Rankin, Ian, author.

Even dogs in the wild - a novel

"Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is investigating the death of a senior lawyer during a robbery. The case becomes more complex when a note is discovered, indicating that this may have been no random attack. When local gangster Big Ger Cafferty receives an identical message, Clarke decides that the recently retired John Rebus may be able to help. Together the two old adversaries might just stand a chance of saving Cafferty's skin. But a notorious family tailed by a team of undercover detective

Feb 8, 2016
Downward facing death by Kelly, Michelle (Romantic fiction writer), author.

Downward facing death

"After ten years away, Keeley Carpenter is excited to be back in Belfrey, the traditional English village hometown she fled as a shy teen, with a plan to reopen her father's neglected butcher shop as a yoga cafe´, where she will sell delicious vegetarian food by day and teach yoga classes at night. However the more traditional residents of Belfrey do not take kindly to this idea-or really anything they deem even remotely "New Age-y." Within an hour of her arrival, Keeley comes face to face with

Feb 8, 2016
Dance of death by Marston, Edward, author.

Dance of death

The fifth book in the Home Front Detective Series. London, Autumn 1916. When he slips out of a house in the early hours of the morning, Simon Wilder is too preoccupied to realise that he is being stalked. As he walks along the street, lights begin to dim as a warning that there's another Zeppelin attack. Guns begin to pound away as British aeroplanes attack the Zeppelin. Suddenly, it bursts into flame and lights up the whole sky. The crowds cheer as the great fireball drops slowly down and crash

Feb 8, 2016
The masquerading magician - an accidental alchemist mystery by Pandian, Gigi, 1975-

The masquerading magician - an accidental alchemist mystery

Feb 8, 2016
The shut eye by Bauer, Belinda, 1962- author.

The shut eye

Five footprints are the only sign that Daniel Buck was ever here. And now they are all his mother has left. Every day, Anna Buck guards the little prints in the cement. Polishing them to a shine. Keeping them safe. Spiralling towards insanity. When a psychic offers hope, Anna grasps it. Who wouldn't? Maybe he can tell her what happened to her son... But is this man what he claims to be? Is he a visionary? A shut eye? Or a cruel fake, preying on the vulnerable? Or is he something far, far worse?

Feb 8, 2016
Off the books by Arlington, Lucy, author.

Off the books

Feb 8, 2016
The mystery of the Venus Island fetish by Flannery, Tim F. (Tim Fridtjof), 1956- author.

The mystery of the Venus Island fetish

"It's 1932, and the Great Venus Island Fetish, a ceremonial mask surrounded by thirty-two human skulls, now resides in a museum in Sydney, Australia. But young anthropologist Archie Meek, recently returned from an extended field trip to Venus Island, has noticed something amiss: a strange discoloration on some of the skulls. Has someone tampered with the fetish? Is there a link between it and the mysterious disappearance of Cecil Polkinghorne, curator of archaeology? And how did Eric Sopwith, re

Feb 8, 2016
Kernel of Truth - A Popcorn Shop Mystery by Abbott, Kristi

Kernel of Truth - A Popcorn Shop Mystery

Feb 8, 2016
I don't like where this is going - a Wylie Coyote novel by Dufresne, John, author.

I don't like where this is going - a Wylie Coyote novel

Feb 8, 2016
Murder at the manor - country house mysteries by

Murder at the manor - country house mysteries

Feb 8, 2016
London rain - a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey by Upson, Nicola, author.

London rain - a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey

"Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptati

Feb 8, 2016
The big rewind by Cudmore, Libby, author.

The big rewind

Raymond Chandler meets Nick Hornby in this clever noir romp through hipster Brooklyn as a mysterious mix tape puts a young amateur sleuth on the hunt for a killer-and for the truths hidden within her own heart. Jett Bennett moved to New York to become a music journalist. What she found was a temp gig as a proofreader, but at least she's fitting in with the artists and musicians in the tragically hip Brooklyn neighborhood she calls home. But when Jett opens up her mail and finds a mix tape meant

Feb 8, 2016
Cut me in by McBain, Ed, 1926-2005, author.

Cut me in

"Maybe no one liked Del Gilbert a whole lot, not the men he ruthlessly did business with, not the women who discovered his other lovers, not even his partner in the Gilbert and Blake literary agency - me. But when I found him shot to death on the floor of his office, I had no choice. I had to track down the person responsible. And not just to lay Del to rest, either. Next to his body, the office safe was wide open, and a contract worth millions was missing..." -- pg 4 of cover.

Feb 8, 2016
The girls she left behind - a Lizzie Snow novel by Graves, Sarah, 1951- author.

The girls she left behind - a Lizzie Snow novel

"After ten years as a captive of kidnapper Henry Gemmerle, Joan Crimmins eludes the media and spurns the family who failed to search for her. Instead, she settles in the remote Maine town of Bearkill. But when Gemmerle flees a prison clinic and a 16-year-old Bearkill girl vanishes, Aroostook County Sheriff's deputy Lizzie Snow knows that Joan's painful past has just become another young woman's horrifying future"--

Feb 8, 2016
The murder of Mary Russell - a novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes by King, Laurie R, author.

The murder of Mary Russell - a novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes

"Has Laurie King followed in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's footsteps and killed off her protagonist? Sherlock Holmes is back in the latest in the New York Times bestselling series that Lee Child has hailed as "the most sustained feat of imagination in mysteryfiction today"--but is Mary Russell? When the novel opens, the shabby carpet of 221B Baker Street is drenched in blood--and no one knows the fate of Mary Russell. Could this be the final performance for the world's best-known Holmesian author?"--

Feb 8, 2016
The killing forest by Blædel, Sara, author.

The killing forest

"Sara Blaedel, author of the #1 international bestseller The Forgotten Girls--which was roundly praised as "gripping" with "uncompromising realism" (Washington Post) and "tautly suspenseful" (BookPage)--returns with the thrilling next book in her series featuring police investigator Louise Rick. THE KILLING FORESTFollowing an extended leave, Louise Rick returns to work at the Special Search Agency, an elite unit of the National Police Department. She's assigned a case involving a fifteen-year-ol

Feb 8, 2016
Fatal inheritance by Harrison, Cora, author.

Fatal inheritance

"When a woman's body is discovered, strangled and bound with rope to the stone torso of Fa´r Breige, the ancient stone god which stands sentinel above the haunted caves and ancient fortifications of the Atlantic cliffs, the locals believe it was the god who killed her. In life, Clodagh O'Lochlainn had been a disgrace to her clan, tormenting her former priestly lover, jeering at her husband, robbing her relatives: but could she really have been slaughtered by a vengeful god, as the local populati

Feb 8, 2016
A fool and his Monet - a Serena Jones mystery by Orchard, Sandra, author.

A fool and his Monet - a Serena Jones mystery

Feb 8, 2016
Ripe for Murder by O'neil, Carlene

Ripe for Murder

Feb 8, 2016