New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Titlesort icon Date added
At Death's Window - A Shaw and Valentine Police Procedural by Kelly, Jim

At Death's Window - A Shaw and Valentine Police Procedural

Dec 16, 2014
As chimney sweepers come to dust - a Flavia de Luce novel by Bradley, C. Alan, 1938-

As chimney sweepers come to dust - a Flavia de Luce novel

"Flavia de Luce--"part Harriet the Spy, part Violet Baudelaire from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events" (The New York Times Book Review)--takes her remarkable sleuthing prowess to the unexpectedly unsavory world of Canadian boarding schools in the captivating new mystery from New York Times bestselling author Alan Bradley"--

Dec 19, 2014
Arsenic and old books by James, Miranda.

Arsenic and old books

"In Athena, Mississippi, librarian Charlie Harris is known for his good nature--and for his Maine coon cat, Diesel, whom he walks on a leash. Charlie returned to his hometown to immerse himself in books, but taking the plunge into a recent acquisition will have him in over his head... Lucinda Beckwith Long, the mayor of Athena, has donated a set of Civil War-era diaries to the archives of Athena College. The books were recently discovered among the personal effects of an ancestor of Mrs. Long's

Dec 19, 2014
All the President's Menus by Hyzy, Julie

All the President's Menus

Dec 19, 2014
Aground on St. Thomas by Hale, Rebecca M.

Aground on St. Thomas

When the FBI seizes the island of St. Thomas, leaving tourists and locals stranded, agent Gabe "Friday" Stein must track down a missing governor and two senators wanted for corruption, while Senator Julia Sanchez, innocent of any crime, attempts to escape.

Dec 19, 2014
Aground on St. Thomas by Hale, Rebecca M, author.

Aground on St. Thomas

Dec 16, 2014
A woman unknown by Brody, Frances.

A woman unknown

"A winning combination of both intricate plotting and nostalgic post-WWI English country setting, A Woman Unknown will appeal to fans of both classic murder mysteries in the vein of Agatha Christie as well as readers of historical mystery series set in 1920s England, two popular subgenres. The Woman Unknown: Deirdre Fitzpatrick is married to a man who wants to know where she really goes when supposedly taking care of her sick mother and calls on the expertise of Kate Shackleton, amateur sleuth e

Dec 19, 2014
A tightly raveled mind by Lawson, Diane.

A tightly raveled mind

"Sigmund Freud would have liked a mixed-up dish like Dr. Nora Goodman, a sexy forty-something psychoanalyst with whacko rich patients who can't seem to allow themselves happiness, love or success. She's not exactly a steady customer herself, born to a ranting bipolar Talmud scholar and a mother with a heart as cold as a Chicago slaughterhouse. But now she has two kids and an overbearing psychiatrist husband. She hates him. She hates his Jewish old money world. Nora wants a new life sans husband

Dec 17, 2014
A ticket to the boneyard - a Matthew Scudder mystery by Block, Lawrence.

A ticket to the boneyard - a Matthew Scudder mystery

NjBwBT

Dec 19, 2014
A Ticket to the Bone Yard by Block, Lawrence

A Ticket to the Bone Yard

Dec 16, 2014
A stitch in crime by Elliott, Cathy, 1950-

A stitch in crime

Dec 19, 2014
A Seamless Murder - A Magical Dressmaking Mystery by Bourbon, Melissa

A Seamless Murder - A Magical Dressmaking Mystery

Dec 19, 2014
A noble radiance by Leon, Donna.

A noble radiance

An unassuming uninhabited farmhouse in the Italian countryside delivers up its gruesome secret when its overgrown grounds are cleared for the first time in decades. What is left of the decomposing body is of little help to the urgently summoned Brunetti...until a distinctively valuable signet ring, found nearby, links the mangled remains to a kidnapped scion of Venetian aristocracy.

Dec 18, 2014
A nip of murder - a moonshine mystery by Miller, Carol, 1972-

A nip of murder - a moonshine mystery

"As Daisy McGovern knows all too well, it isn't easy being a young, small town waitress at the local diner. And it becomes even harder just as she's trying to stitch her life back together and salvage her job by converting the diner into a bakery when a mysterious robbery occurs and one of the thieves ends up dead on the bakery floor with a chef's knife in his chest. Forced into a twisted game of cat-and-mouse that takes her from secretive nip joints overflowing with moonshine to weathered Appal

Dec 19, 2014
A nip of murder - a moonshine mystery by Miller, Carol, 1972-

A nip of murder - a moonshine mystery

"As Daisy McGovern knows all too well, it isn't easy being a young, small town waitress at the local diner. And it becomes even harder just as she's trying to stitch her life back together and salvage her job by converting the diner into a bakery when a mysterious robbery occurs and one of the thieves ends up dead on the bakery floor with a chef's knife in his chest. Forced into a twisted game of cat-and-mouse that takes her from secretive nip joints overflowing with moonshine to weathered Appal

Dec 16, 2014
A necessary end by Gregson, J. M., author.

A necessary end

Alfred Norbury is a learned man. He is never afraid to display his erudition, but he is generous in his encouragement of younger people. The people who assemble around him to form a reading club are also learned. Some of them are simply well-read, whilst others have formal qualifications which rival those of Norbury. But learning is no protection against violence. Murder arrives suddenly, brutally and unexpectedly. The investigation led by Detective Chief Inspector Percy Peach and Detective Serg

Dec 19, 2014
A Necessary End - A Percy Peach Police Procedural by Gregson, J. M.

A Necessary End - A Percy Peach Police Procedural

Dec 16, 2014
A fine summer's day - an Inspector Ian Rutledge mystery by Todd, Charles.

A fine summer's day - an Inspector Ian Rutledge mystery

"New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd takes readers on a trip to Ian Rutledge's past, with the story of the last case the Scotland Yard detective tackles before he goes off to fight in World War I"--

Dec 19, 2014
A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery by McPherson, Catriona, 1965-

A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery

"Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and p

Dec 17, 2014
A broken vessel by Ross, Kate.

A broken vessel

Julian Kestrel joins with Sally, a prostitute, to find the murderer of a woman staying in a refuge for prostitutes in Regency London.

Dec 19, 2014