New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Title Date addedsort icon
Gunpowder green by Childs, Laura.

Gunpowder green

When a member of the Charleston elite turns up dead during the annual yacht race as the Indigo Tea Shop simultaneously lauches its latest tea flavor, Gunpowder Green, proprietor Theodosia Browning must draw on her sleuthing skills to find a killer.

Feb 8, 2016
The harlot's tale - a midwife mystery by Thomas, Samuel S, author.

The harlot's tale - a midwife mystery

In 1645, while the city's overlords launch a brutal campaign to whip the sinners into godliness to appease God's wrath, Martha Hawkins and Bridget Hodgson search for a killer who is targeting York's sinners for execution.

Feb 8, 2016
Butterfly Kills by Chapman, Brenda

Butterfly Kills

Feb 8, 2016
The cat who sniffed glue by Braun, Lilian Jackson.

The cat who sniffed glue

Jim Qwillerman and his feline sleuthing companions search for a motive to the murder of Harley Fitch and his pregnant wife Belle in the isolated community of Picka

Feb 8, 2016
Cold mourning - a Stonechild and Rouleau mystery by Chapman, Brenda, 1955- author.

Cold mourning - a Stonechild and Rouleau mystery

It's a week before Christmas when wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air - with more than enough people wanting him dead. New police recruit Kala Stonechild, who has left northern Ontario to join a specialized Ottawa crime unit, is tasked with returning Underwood home in time for the holidays. Stonechild, who is from a First Nations reserve, is a lone wolf who is used to surviving on her wits. Her new boss, Detective Jacques Rouleau, has his hands full controlling her, his te

Feb 8, 2016
A familiar tail by James, Delia, author.

A familiar tail

Feb 8, 2016
False Wall by Heley, Veronica

False Wall

Feb 10, 2016
Even dogs in the wild - a novel by Rankin, Ian, author.

Even dogs in the wild - a novel

"Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is investigating the death of a senior lawyer during a robbery. The case becomes more complex when a note is discovered, indicating that this may have been no random attack. When local gangster Big Ger Cafferty receives an identical message, Clarke decides that the recently retired John Rebus may be able to help. Together the two old adversaries might just stand a chance of saving Cafferty's skin. But a notorious family tailed by a team of undercover detective

Feb 10, 2016
Downward facing death by Kelly, Michelle (Romantic fiction writer), author.

Downward facing death

"After ten years away, Keeley Carpenter is excited to be back in Belfrey, the traditional English village hometown she fled as a shy teen, with a plan to reopen her father's neglected butcher shop as a yoga cafe´, where she will sell delicious vegetarian food by day and teach yoga classes at night. However the more traditional residents of Belfrey do not take kindly to this idea-or really anything they deem even remotely "New Age-y." Within an hour of her arrival, Keeley comes face to face with

Feb 10, 2016
Dance of death by Marston, Edward, author.

Dance of death

The fifth book in the Home Front Detective Series. London, Autumn 1916. When he slips out of a house in the early hours of the morning, Simon Wilder is too preoccupied to realise that he is being stalked. As he walks along the street, lights begin to dim as a warning that there's another Zeppelin attack. Guns begin to pound away as British aeroplanes attack the Zeppelin. Suddenly, it bursts into flame and lights up the whole sky. The crowds cheer as the great fireball drops slowly down and crash

Feb 10, 2016
The masquerading magician - an accidental alchemist mystery by Pandian, Gigi, 1975-

The masquerading magician - an accidental alchemist mystery

Feb 10, 2016
The shut eye by Bauer, Belinda, 1962- author.

The shut eye

Five footprints are the only sign that Daniel Buck was ever here. And now they are all his mother has left. Every day, Anna Buck guards the little prints in the cement. Polishing them to a shine. Keeping them safe. Spiralling towards insanity. When a psychic offers hope, Anna grasps it. Who wouldn't? Maybe he can tell her what happened to her son... But is this man what he claims to be? Is he a visionary? A shut eye? Or a cruel fake, preying on the vulnerable? Or is he something far, far worse?

Feb 10, 2016
Off the books by Arlington, Lucy, author.

Off the books

Feb 10, 2016
The mystery of the Venus Island fetish by Flannery, Tim F. (Tim Fridtjof), 1956- author.

The mystery of the Venus Island fetish

"It's 1932, and the Great Venus Island Fetish, a ceremonial mask surrounded by thirty-two human skulls, now resides in a museum in Sydney, Australia. But young anthropologist Archie Meek, recently returned from an extended field trip to Venus Island, has noticed something amiss: a strange discoloration on some of the skulls. Has someone tampered with the fetish? Is there a link between it and the mysterious disappearance of Cecil Polkinghorne, curator of archaeology? And how did Eric Sopwith, re

Feb 10, 2016
Kernel of Truth - A Popcorn Shop Mystery by Abbott, Kristi

Kernel of Truth - A Popcorn Shop Mystery

Feb 10, 2016
I don't like where this is going - a Wylie Coyote novel by Dufresne, John, author.

I don't like where this is going - a Wylie Coyote novel

Feb 10, 2016
Murder at the manor - country house mysteries by

Murder at the manor - country house mysteries

Feb 10, 2016
London rain - a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey by Upson, Nicola, author.

London rain - a new mystery featuring Josephine Tey

"Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptati

Feb 10, 2016
Cut me in by McBain, Ed, 1926-2005, author.

Cut me in

"Maybe no one liked Del Gilbert a whole lot, not the men he ruthlessly did business with, not the women who discovered his other lovers, not even his partner in the Gilbert and Blake literary agency - me. But when I found him shot to death on the floor of his office, I had no choice. I had to track down the person responsible. And not just to lay Del to rest, either. Next to his body, the office safe was wide open, and a contract worth millions was missing..." -- pg 4 of cover.

Feb 10, 2016
The girls she left behind - a Lizzie Snow novel by Graves, Sarah, 1951- author.

The girls she left behind - a Lizzie Snow novel

"After ten years as a captive of kidnapper Henry Gemmerle, Joan Crimmins eludes the media and spurns the family who failed to search for her. Instead, she settles in the remote Maine town of Bearkill. But when Gemmerle flees a prison clinic and a 16-year-old Bearkill girl vanishes, Aroostook County Sheriff's deputy Lizzie Snow knows that Joan's painful past has just become another young woman's horrifying future"--

Feb 10, 2016