New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Title Date addedsort icon
A dance at the slaughterhouse - a Matthew Scudder crime novel by Block, Lawrence.

A dance at the slaughterhouse - a Matthew Scudder crime novel

Private investigator Matthew Scudder searches for the missing link between two horrific crimes -- the rape-murder of wealthy Amanda Thurman and a snuff film involving a young homeless boy.

Nov 27, 2014
Tampa burn by White, Randy Wayne.

Tampa burn

It's taken ten years for former assassin Doc Form to reinvent himself on Florida's Gulf coast. Now the abduction of his only son--the legace of a long-ago love affair--has pulled him back into the shadow of his vilent past, and more is at stake than ransom. The kidnapper is a legend known as Incendiario. Torture by fire is his speciality--and his pleasure. In the pay of a vengeful politco with twisted ties to Doc, Incendiario is arranging a private hell reserved for the innocent. The trap h

Nov 27, 2014
In the company of Sherlock Holmes - stories inspired by the Holmes canon by

In the company of Sherlock Holmes - stories inspired by the Holmes canon

The Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were recently voted the top mystery series of all time, and they have enthralled generations of readers--and writers. Now, Laurie R. King, author of the bestselling Mary Russell series in which Holmes plays a costarring role, and Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes, have assembled a stellar group of contemporary authors from a variety of genres and asked them to create new stories inspired by that canon. Inside you'

Nov 27, 2014
Rutland Place - a Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novel by Perry, Anne.

Rutland Place - a Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novel

When Charlotte learns of her mother's distress in losing a locket with a compromising picture, she has no idea that it's just the beginning of a series of bizarre events that will end in sudden death.

Nov 27, 2014
Hell on wheels by Jaffarian, Sue Ann, 1952-

Hell on wheels

Nov 27, 2014
Death on demand by Hart, Carolyn G.

Death on demand

At Annie Laurance's Death on Demand bookstore on Broward's Rock Island, South Carolina, murder most foul suddenly isn't confined to the well-stocked shelves. Author Elliot Morgan's abrupt demise during a weekly gathering of famous mystery writers called the Sunday Night Reblars is proof positive that a bloody sword is sometimes mightier than a brilliant pen.

Nov 27, 2014
Death on the Cherwell by Hay, Mavis Doriel, author.

Death on the Cherwell

For Miss Cordell, principal of Persephone College, there are two great evils in the world: unladylike behavior among her students and bad publicity for the college. This means it's a very, very bad day when a secret society of her students meets by the river on a gloomy January afternoon--and finds the drowned body of the college bursar. Death on the Cherwell follows the investigation, which initially focuses on the girls themselves and ultimately leads them to do some detecting of their own. So

Nov 27, 2014
The devil's star by Nesbø, Jo, 1960-

The devil's star

Oslo is sweltering in the summer heat when a young woman is murdered in her flat. One finger has been cut off and a tiny red diamond in the shape of a pentagram--a five-pointed star--is found under her eyelid. Detective Harry Hole is assigned the case with Tom Waaler, a colleague he neither likes nor trusts. He believes Tom is behind a gang of arms smugglers--and the murder of his partner. But Harry, an off-the-rails alcoholic, is barely holding on to his job and has little choice but to play ni

Nov 27, 2014
A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery by McPherson, Catriona, 1965-

A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery

"Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and p

Nov 27, 2014
A dog gone murder by Viets, Elaine, 1950- author.

A dog gone murder

Josie has been asked to investigate Uncle Bob's Doggy Day Camp, known for its commercials featuring Uncle Bob liking dogs so much that he acts like one. But Josie soon learns how Uncle Bob acts when the cameras are off. Her mother's new tenant, Franklin, who works for Uncle Bob, plans to quit after seeing the man's true nature. But before he gets the chance, Bob is murdered, and Franklin goes from the doghouse to the big house. Now it's up to Josie to clear Franklin's name. Her investigation rev

Nov 27, 2014
Good night, Mr. Holmes by Douglas, Carole Nelson.

Good night, Mr. Holmes

Nov 27, 2014
Everybody dies by Block, Lawrence.

Everybody dies

Matt Scudder is leading a comfortable life in New York until he signs on to help his dearest friend--the HellUs Kitchen hoodlum Mick "Butcher Boy" Ballou. Matt quickly discovers that the spruced-up sidewalks are as mean as ever, dark and gritty, and stained with blood. (August).

Nov 27, 2014
He shall thunder in the sky by Peters, Elizabeth, 1927-2013.

He shall thunder in the sky

Nov 27, 2014
Helsinki noir by

Helsinki noir

Nov 27, 2014
A high-end finish by Carlisle, Kate, 1951- author.

A high-end finish

Shannon Hammer, owner of a successful home renovation and repair business in the seaside town of Lighthouse Cove in northern California, is the prime suspect in the murder of real estate agent Jerry Saxton. After the two of them go on a disastrous blind date, Jerry's body is found in a run-down Victorian home that Shannon has been hired to restore. The town's attractive new police chief suspects Shannon, who, with the help of her friends, her eccentric father, and a handsome crime writer who's j

Nov 27, 2014
Justice Hall - a Mary Russell novel by King, Laurie R.

Justice Hall - a Mary Russell novel

"It's a mystery that begins during the Great War, when Gabriel Hughenfort dies amidst scandalous rumors that have haunted the family ever since. But it's not until Holmes and Russell arrive at Justice Hall, a home of unearthly perfection set in a garden modled on Paradise, that they fully understand the irony echoed in the family motto, Justica fortitudo mea est: Righteousness is my strength. A trail of ominous clues leads Holmes and Russell from English hamlet to fashionable Paris to the wild p

Nov 27, 2014
Knot in my backyard by Marks, Mary

Knot in my backyard

When she stumbles over the body of baseball coach Dax Martin, middle-age divorcee Martha Ross and her fellow quilters must piece together the clues to figure out who in their neighborhood wanted the coach benched permanently.

Nov 27, 2014
Let sleeping dogs lie - a novel by Brown, Rita Mae.

Let sleeping dogs lie - a novel

"On the Ides of March, an ill wind blows no good -- especially when it knocks down a tree limb in the oldest equine graveyard in America, revealing remains that are decidedly un-equine. It falls to Master of the Foxhunt, the indomitable "Sister" Jane Arnold and her trusty hounds to investigate an old murder with present day repercussions. To start off, the complicated relations between three old families and their prize thoroughbreds must be untangled. And when Sister's troublesome nemesis Crawf

Nov 27, 2014
A letter of Mary - a Mary Russell novel by King, Laurie R.

A letter of Mary - a Mary Russell novel

From Edgar Award-winning author Laurie R. King, this national bestseller has met unprecedented acclaim from critics as diverse as "The New York Times Book Review": " a lively adventure in the very best of intellectual company". The case of an amateur archaeologist whose discoveries in the Holy Land may have resulted in her murder, this novel finds the inimitable duo of Russell and Holmes in superlative form. Martin's Press.

Nov 27, 2014
Every crooked nanny by Trocheck, Kathy Hogan, 1954-, author.

Every crooked nanny

"After ten years of cleaning up Atlanta's streets, former cop Callahan Garrity trades in her badge for a broom and buys herself a housekeeping business. She's on the job when her clients discover that their pretty nineteen-year-old Mormon nanny has disappeared...along with jewelry, silver, and a few rather sensitive real estate documents. Soon Callahan is involved with a job messier than any she's ever encountered while wearing an apron. Illicit love triangles, crooked business deals, long-dista

Nov 27, 2014