New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Title Date addedsort icon
Sayonara slam by Hirahara, Naomi, 1962- author.

Sayonara slam

""Hirahara has a keen eye for the telling detail and an assured sense of character."--Los Angeles Times At Dodger Stadium it's Japan vs. Korea in the World Baseball Classic, but before the first pitch is thrown, Mas Arai finds himself in the middle of a murder. Mysteries layer atop mysteries in this sixth in the award-winning series featuring the most unlikely of sleuths, an aging, widowed, not-exactly-communicative gardener from Altadena, California. Who is that unusual woman throwing knuckleba

May 24, 2016
Murder in Morningside Heights - a gaslight mystery by Thompson, Victoria (Victoria E.)

Murder in Morningside Heights - a gaslight mystery

"Former police sergeant Frank Malloy and his wife adjust to life in New York high society as they investigate a death in the field of higher learning. After spending his first few weeks as a private detective by investigating infidelities of the wealthy, Frank has a more serious case at hand. Abigail Northrup of Tarrytown, New York, was her parents' pride and joy. After graduating from a prestigious women's college in Morningside Heights, she took a job there as an instructor. She also joined th

May 24, 2016
Homicide in the House by Shogan, Colleen J.

Homicide in the House

May 22, 2016
The devils of Cardona by Carr, Matthew, 1955- author.

The devils of Cardona

"In this gripping historical thriller set in sixteenth-century Spain, a Catholic priest is murdered by a mysterious Muslim avenger as the Inquisition continues to force Moriscos to live and worship as Christians. In March 1584, the priest of Belamar de la Sierra, a small town in Aragon near the French border, is murdered in his own church. Most of the town's inhabitants are Moriscos, former Muslims who converted to Catholicism. Anxious to avert a violent backlash on the eve of a royal visit, an

May 22, 2016
The devil's cold dish by Kuhns, Eleanor, author.

The devil's cold dish

"Will Rees is back home on his farm in 1796 Maine with his teenage son, his pregnant wife, their five adopted children, and endless farm work under the blistering summer sun. But for all that, Rees is happy to have returned to Dugard, Maine, the town where he was born and raised, and where he's always felt at home. Until now. When a man is found dead - murdered - after getting into a public dispute with Rees, Rees starts to realize someone is intentionally trying to pin the murder on him. Then,

May 22, 2016
The Dead Don't Bleed by Krugler, David

The Dead Don't Bleed

May 22, 2016
Death on the Sapphire by Koreto, R. J.

Death on the Sapphire

May 22, 2016
Burn what will burn - a novel by McKenzie, C. B, author.

Burn what will burn - a novel

"Bob Reynolds doesn't recognize the body in the creek, but he does recognize the danger of it. He's a newcomer to town, not entirely welcome and not entirely on good footing with the sheriff. So far, he's kept his head down, mostly over the bar at the Crow's Nest. But he has other interests than drinking and spending his inheritance, including one that goes by the name Tammy Fay Smith and who may have caught the sheriff's eye as well. Bob Reynolds would rather pretend he never saw the body, but

May 22, 2016
That bright land - a novel by Roberts, Terry, 1956- author.

That bright land - a novel

May 22, 2016
Rio Noir by Bellotto, Tony (EDT)/ Landers, Clifford (TRN)

Rio Noir

May 22, 2016
The detective & the Chinese high-fin - a John Darvelle mystery by Craven, Michael, 1970- author.

The detective & the Chinese high-fin - a John Darvelle mystery

"A BOURBON STREET BOOK. Michael Craven, author of The Detective & The Pipe Girl, delivers another mystery--for fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen--featuring private detective John Darvelle, who must crack a cold case that pulls him into the high-stakes world of exotic fish collectors"--

May 22, 2016
Fatal pursuit by Walker, Martin, 1947 January 23-

Fatal pursuit

When a local scholar turns up dead at St. Denis' annual rally and classic car parade, Bruno, chief of police, suspects foul play, especially when a family squabble and international crime are factored in, making the investigation even more challenging.

May 22, 2016
The Secret of High Eldersham by Burton, Miles

The Secret of High Eldersham

May 22, 2016
Willnot - a novel by Sallis, James, 1944-

Willnot - a novel

The doctor of a small town, Lamar Hale, investigates after the remains of several people are found in the surrounding woods and his partner is critically wounded by a bullet meant for a man being followed by the FBI.

May 22, 2016
Death in the tunnel by Burton, Miles, 1884-1964.

Death in the tunnel

"On a dark November evening, Sir Wilfred Saxonby is travelling alone in the 5 o'clock train from Cannon Street, in a locked compartment. The train slows and stops inside a tunnel; and by the time it emerges again minutes later, Sir Wilfred has been shot dead, his heart pierced by a single bullet. Suicide seems to be the answer, even though no reason can be found. Inspector Arnold of Scotland Yard thinks again when he learns that a mysterious red light in the tunnel caused the train to slow down.

May 20, 2016
Crime and poetry by Flower, Amanda, author.

Crime and poetry

Violet Waverly rushes home to her ailing grandmother to find it was all a ploy to get her closer to home. Violet begins working in Charming Books, her grandma's magical bookshop. Soon a dead man is discovered clutching a volume of Emily Dickinson's poems and Violet is caught up in the mystery.

May 20, 2016
St. Ernan's blues by Charles, Paul, 1949- author.

St. Ernan's blues

May 20, 2016
Buried by Masterton, Graham, author.

Buried

Katie Maguire knows that in this part of Ireland, the past can never stay buried... In Blarney, Cork, an old millworker's cottage guards its secrets. In 1921, a mother, father and their two young children disappeared from this house. And now, ninety-five years later, their mummified bodies have been discovered under the floorboards. The neighbors cannot imagine who would have killed such a harmless family all those years ago. But as DS Katie Maguire investigates, the flames of old family rivalri

May 20, 2016
Deadly dunes - a Mac McClellan mystery by Helms, E. Michael, author.

Deadly dunes - a Mac McClellan mystery

Hours after hiring Mac McClellan to investigate the supposed suicide of her archaeologist brother, single-mom Jessie dies in a car accident. Jessie had just showed Mac artifacts and a copy of a map Jake found, items that indicate Hernando de Soto and his explorers might have camped on Five Mile Island during the winter of 1539-1540. Studying the map, Mac determines the site lies in the middle of a planned resort, The Dunes. Declaring the area an historic site could shut the project down. Suspici

May 20, 2016
Design for dying by Patrick, Renee, author.

Design for dying

May 20, 2016