New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Title Date addedsort icon
Black Thursday - a Mrs. Frugalicious shopping mystery by Hull, Linda Joffe.

Black Thursday - a Mrs. Frugalicious shopping mystery

Oct 21, 2014
The forgotten girl by Bell, David, 1969 November 17-

The forgotten girl

"The past has arrived uninvited at Jason Danvers's door . . . and it's his younger sister, Hayden, a former addict who severed all contact with her family as her life spiraled out of control. Now she's clean and sober but in need of a desperate favor--she asks Jason and his wife to take care of her teenage daughter for forty-eight hours while she handles some business in town. But Hayden never returns. And her disappearance brings up more unresolved problems from Jason's past, including the abru

Oct 21, 2014
French pastry murder - a Lucy Stone mystery by Meier, Leslie, author.

French pastry murder - a Lucy Stone mystery

"Tinker's Cove is abuzz with excitement when Norah, the queen of daytime TV, comes to town and selects Lucy and her pals to be featured in her "Women Who Make a Difference" episode. In recognition for their charitable work, the ladies and their husbands are awarded a dream vacation in Paris, complete with classes at Le Cooking School with renowned pastry chef Larry Bruneau. But their bon voyage is cut short when Lucy discovers the chef in a pool of blood on the second day of class. . . Lucy alwa

Oct 21, 2014
The girl next door - a novel by Rendell, Ruth, 1930-, author.

The girl next door - a novel

"Mystery novel about friendship, love, and aging. Synopsis: In the wanting months of the second World War, a group of children discover an earthen tunnel in their neighborhood. Throughout the summer of 1944--until one father forbids it--the subterranean space becomes their "secret garden," where the friends play games and tell stories. Six decades later, beneath a house on the same land, construction workers uncover a tin box containing two skeletal hands, one male and one female. As the discove

Oct 21, 2014
Ghost wanted by Hart, Carolyn G.

Ghost wanted

"Bailey Ruth's supervisor, Wiggins, is worried about a dear old friend. The ghost of elegant Lorraine Marlow haunts Adelaide's college library. Known as the Lady of the Roses, she plays matchmaker, using the fragrant flowers to pair up students. But someone's making mischief after hours, leaving roses strewn about the library, destroying a gargoyle, and stealing a valuable book. Concerned with Lorraine's reputation among the living, Wiggins dispatches the irrepressible redhead Bailey Ruth to inv

Oct 21, 2014
Drop shot by Coben, Harlan, 1962- author.

Drop shot

Investigating the killing of a burned-out tennis star, sports agent Myron Bolitar uncovers a connection between the victim and a rising star from the wrong side of the tracks, while a corrupt senator and organized crime watch his every move.

Oct 21, 2014
Deal Breaker by Coben, Harlan

Deal Breaker

Oct 21, 2014
A Deadly Indifference by Jevons, Marshall

A Deadly Indifference

Oct 21, 2014
Darkest fear - a Myron Bolitar novel by Coben, Harlan, 1962- author.

Darkest fear - a Myron Bolitar novel

A friend's son is gravely ill and the potential bone-marrow donor who could save his life has disappeared, so detective Myron Bolitar has no choice but to investigate, even though his sports agency desperately needs his attention.

Oct 21, 2014
Death in the Dolomites - a Rick Montoya Italian mystery by Wagner, David P., author.

Death in the Dolomites - a Rick Montoya Italian mystery

Oct 21, 2014
A midwinter's tail - a magical cats mystery by Kelly, Sofie, 1958- author.

A midwinter's tail - a magical cats mystery

"Winter in Mayville Heights is busy and not just because of the holidays. Kathleen is hard at work organizing a benefit to raise money for the library's popular Reading Buddies program. She has her hands full hosting the event. And when a guest at the gala drops dead, her magical cats, Owen and Hercules, will have their paws full helping her solve a murder. The victim is the ex of town rascal Burtis Chapman, but she hasn't lived in the area in years. And though everybody is denying knowledge of

Oct 21, 2014
Lost under a ladder - a superstition mystery by Johnston, Linda O.

Lost under a ladder - a superstition mystery

"Rory Chasen's fiance´ died and she had a hard time coming to terms with his unfortunate death. Was he hit by the car because he walked under a ladder moments before? Rory's best friend introduces her to a town called Destiny where superstitions are a way of life. Rory visits to find answers, receives a job offer at the Lucky Dog Boutique and later is caught up in the murder of a business owner. A boutique's owner is the prime suspect but Rory can't believe sweet Martha would do it, she's convin

Oct 21, 2014
Stages of grey by Simon, Clea, author.

Stages of grey

Dulcie never considered herself a player. But when her friends drag her to a new local theatre company that is updating Ovid with a disco version of The Metamorphosis, the grad student finds herself in the front row of a murder. This could be the end of the struggling company, which is also plagued by money woes and romantic rivalries. But was jealousy the reason the performer was stabbed? Or are there darker secrets behind the scenes? And what role does Gus, the troupe's feline mascot, play? As

Oct 21, 2014
The Neruda case by Ampuero, Roberto, 1953-

The Neruda case

Oct 21, 2014
The lost key by Coulter, Catherine, author.

The lost key

"Freshly minted FBI agent Nicholas Drummond is barely out of his Quantico training when he and his partner, Mike Caine, are called to investigate a stabbing on Wall Street. Their investigation, however, yields more questions than answers. It quickly becomes clear that the victim, John Pearce, was more than the naval historian and antiquities dealer he appeared to be. What Drummond doesn't know is that buying and selling rare books was Pearce's cover, and that he had devoted his life to discoveri

Oct 21, 2014
Thoreau at Devil's Perch by Oak, B. B.

Thoreau at Devil's Perch

"Henry David Thoreau leaves the seclusion of Walden Pond to help investigate a series of murders in the first in B. B. Oak's fascinating new historical mystery series, set against the bucolic backdrop of 19th century New England."--Cover p.[4]

Oct 21, 2014
Over my dead body by Stout, Rex, 1886-1975.

Over my dead body

Nero Wolfe refuses to accept a case concerning a girl accused of stealing diamonds, until he learns she claims to be his daughter.

Oct 21, 2014
Straight pool - [an Algy Temple mystery] by Partridge, J. J. (John J.)

Straight pool - [an Algy Temple mystery]

"The charred body of a native american in the ashes of Haversham Golf Club, Westerly's swank new country club, is the impetus for a mystery far removed from Carter University's latest skirmish with Providence's mendacious Mayor Sonny Russo. But in Rhode Island, anything can get connected. When persuaded to aid the hapless Club Secretary accused of negligence and self dealing in the aftermath of the fire, Algy Temple finds himself confronting his family's involvement in the harsh reality of Rhode

Oct 21, 2014
To dwell in darkness - a novel by Crombie, Deborah.

To dwell in darkness - a novel

"In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder. Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing

Oct 21, 2014
Tradition of deceit - a Chloe Ellefson mystery by Ernst, Kathleen, 1959-

Tradition of deceit - a Chloe Ellefson mystery

Oct 21, 2014