Being Green

  • Let the Monroe County Public library help you "Greenify" your life. Everyone is looking for ways to be more environmentally responsible, lessen our impact on the planet and perhaps save money by being green. This subject guide contains materials held at MCPL , as well as web sources and local and state organizations.

    Bobby O.

Databases

  • Search for information on pollution, recycling, green building practices, aspects of human impact on the environment, solar energy, green investing and green products. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest sources.

  • Open access at the Main Library and Ellettsville Branch or at home with a library card number. A selection of science content (e-Book) supporting high school curricula and university coursework. Search for information on topics including global warming, sustainable agriculture, pollution, and climate change.

Books

  • Hammond, Richard
    910.202 Ham

    Learn how to travel the world in an eco-friendly way. This book features green accommodations, restaurants and entertainment options. Explore culturally sensitive travel and learn how to offset your carbon footprint.

  • McBay, Aric
    333.72 Mcb

    A how-to manual for the deep green ecology movement.  Strategic options for green resistance are explored including nonviolence, guerrilla warfare and aboveground and underground action.

  • 333.72 Ear

    In a question and answer format this guide answers questions such as should I wash dishes by hand or in the dishwasher? Are cell phones really dangerous? Should I buy a hybrid car? Is the world running out of oil? Earthtalk provides the tools for living in harmony with the planet.

  • Goleman, Daniel
    333.7 Gol

    The author of Emotional Intelligence and Primal Leadership reveals the hidden environmental costs of what we buy. From organic cotton t-shirts to herbal shampoos; Daniel Goleman explains why so many of the products that are labeled green are a mirage. Learn how new market forces will drive the changes we must make in order to save the planet.

  • Salatin, Joel
    635.048 Sal

    The author is a third generation farmer who believes joy comes from living close to the land and the people we love. Practical and philosophical ideas are given on how readers can change their lives in small ways that have a big impact on themselves and the planet. This book advocates rebuilding America through family farms, sustainable living and fresh and natural eating.

  • Freed, Eric Corey
    643.7 Fre

    Thinking about a green home project? Does it make financial sense? The authors of this book walk readers through 50 home projects and break them down according to the positive impact they have on the environment as well as the impact they have on your wallet. Read this book before deciding which green home projects makes sense for you.

  • 333.72 Gre

    This guide will provide ideas and solutions for consumers who have chosen to lead an environmentally-conscious life. Easy-to-follow, information-packed chapters touch on every aspect of life including grocery shopping, housecleaning, investing, travel, work , health care, clothing, gardening and pet care.

  • Uldrich, Jack
    332.6042 Uld

    A guide to green stocks, the leading green companies and the newest investment options in renewables-including solar and wind power and green building and fuel cells.

  • Hamilton, Dave
    635 Ham

    Learn how to go through the gardening year on a shoestring by making your own raised beds, saving seeds, taking cuttings, building your own fence and making your own plant food.

Movies & Music

  • Gore, Albert
    363.73874 Inc

    Al Gore explains the facts of global warming and presents arguments that the dangers of global warming have reached the crisis level.  Also discussed are the shifts in environmental policy the author feels are necessary in order to avert a crisis.

  • 333.72 Goi

    Students are introduced to sustainable neighborhood ecosystems and the impact they are having on America's urban landscapes. Topics including recycling, energy conservation and the importance of community- based support for ecosystem restoration are discussed.

  • 640 Gre

    Make responsible choices about the products used in your home. The author includes tips on getting your children involved and ideas on baby care.

Journals & Magazines

  • This guide to living wisely includes articles on natural health, green transportation, modern homesteading, green homes, renewable energy and sustainable farming.

  • Natural Home and Garden is the authority on green building and eco-conscious home design.Includes articles on earth-friendly décor, natural lifestyle, current trends in sustainable building and self-sufficiency.

  • Growing guides, planting tips, product reviews, regional growing calendars, forums and blogs.

Web Resources

  • Founded by the organizers of the first Earth Day in 1970, Earth Day Network promotes environmental action worldwide. Core programs include greening schools and environmental education; accelerating the global green economy; a billion acts of green and broadening the definition of environment to include issues that affect our health, communities and economy.

  • Wondering where to recycle your computer, batteries, paint, garden or hazardous materials? Earth911 is a comprehensive directory with recycling information for over 300 materials. Type in your address, city or zip code along with the type of material you are looking to recycle and Earth911 will tell you where to recycle those materials. Also discusses issues such as single-use versus rechargeable batteries,benefits of aluminum can recycling and how to find your dream green job.

  • Green Network News works to connect South-Central Indiana's environmental community. The website attempts to weave together all of the interests of the green community. It is maintained by volunteers and is linked to local and distant events and could be used for local green event planning. It is meant to be the glue that links the green community.

  • Indiana Living green is a reliable source of environmental information and news for Indiana residents. The magazine and website includes information on green events happening in Indiana; stories on sustainability and conscious consumption; book reviews and travel ideas.

  • The District serves south central Indiana as the leader in waste and recycling management, green business initiatives and education. Teachers will find resources for environmental education including classroom activities, teacher workshops and classroom presentations. The District provides Monroe County residents information on the what, where, when, how and why of recycling.

Local Resources

  • It is the mission of the Center for Sustainable Living to make available information, services, projects and networking opportunities for those interested in exploring ecologically and economically sustainable ways of thinking, living and interacting in our community.

  • A nonprofit organization representing concerned citizens, state and local government officials, business, industry and environmental groups. The coalition encourages integrated recycling, and supports buying recycled-content products and the collection and remanufacturing of recyclable materials.

  • The Indiana/Hoosier Chapter of the Sierra Club celebrated 25 years of environmental activism in 2000. It is an active and vibrant organization that works to accomplish the Sierra Club's mission to:Explore, enjoy and protect the wild places of the earth. Practice and promote responsible use of the earth's ecosystems and resources. Educate and enlist humanity to protect and restore the quality of the natural and human environment.

  • SEAC is a student and youth run national network of progressive organizations and individuals whose aim is to uproot environmental injustices through action and education.

  • Sycamore Land Trust (SLT) is a non-profit southern Indiana organization whose mission is to preserve our disappearing landscape.

  • The Nature Conservancy's mission is to preserve the plants, animals and natural communities that represent the diversity of life on Earth by protecting the lands and waters they need to survive.

  • It all starts off when a small collection of motivated individuals within a community come together with a shared concern: how can our community respond to the challenges, and opportunities, of Peak Oil, Climate Change, and Economic Shocks? Four Key Assumptions of the Transition Town movement: That life with dramatically lower energy consumption is inevitable, and that it's better to plan for it than be taken by surprise. That our communities presently lack the resilience to enable them to weather the severe energy shocks that will accompany peak oil. That we have to act collectively, and we have to act now. That by unleashing the collective genius of those around us to creatively and proactively design our energy future, we can build ways of living that are more connected, more enriching and that recognize the biological limits of our planet.