Graphic Novels For Kids

Titles on this list are found in the Juvenile Graphic Novel Collection.


Compiled by:
Julie Martin
Adventures in Cartooning: How to Turn Your Doodles into Comics

James Sturm
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J 741.51 Stu)

This basic cartooning tutorial is for kids who love comics, who enjoy an adventure filled with action and humor, or aspire to become comic book creators.


The Adventures of Polo

Régis Faller
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Faller)

Polo the dog sets out from his home and enjoys many adventures, including sailing his boat on top of a whale, roasting hot dogs over a volcano, and taking a ride in a spaceship built from a mushroom.


Awkward

Svetlana Chmakova
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Chmakov)

After shunning Jaime, the school nerd, on her first day at a new middle school, Penelope Torres has a hard time making it up to him. For fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile, Sisters, and Drama.


The Big Wet Balloon

Liniers
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Liniers)
Series: Toon into reading. Level 2.

Clemmie and her sister Matilda are in for a surprise on a rainy day.


Binky the Space Cat

Ashley Spires
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Spires)
Series: Binky adventure

Binky has a dream to become a space cat. Join him in his rigorous training as he battles aliens (bugs), explores space (the outdoors), and protects his humans.


Cardboard

Doug TenNapel
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Tennape)

When cardboard creatures come magically to life, a boy must save his town from disaster.


The Dodgeball Chronicles

Frank Cammuso
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Cammuso)
Series: Knights of the lunch table ; 1

Artie King's hopes for easing into life at Camelot Middle School are dashed when he opens a mysterious locker filled with useful, wonderful items and is pulled into a do-or-die dodgeball game that pits Artie and his friends against the school's toughest kids.


Dragon Girl: The Secret Valley

Jeff Weigel
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Weigel)

Alanna discovers a nest of hatching dragon eggs and decides to care for them herself. When mama dragon returns, Alanna is mistaken for a baby dragon herself and is soon caught up in the conflict between knights and dragons!


El Deafo

Cece Bell
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J 362.42 Bel)

This tale follows the adventures of young Cece, who develops "superpowers" to manage the challenges of making friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid - that sometimes lets her hear things she shouldn't.


Fairy Tale Comics: Classic Tales Told by Extraordinary Cartoonists

Chris Duffy
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Fairy)

Seventeen fairy tales are wonderfully adapted and illustrated in comics format by such noted artists as Raina Telgemeier, Brett Helquist, Cherise Harper, and others.


Mal and Chad: The Biggest, Bestest Time Ever

Stephen McCranie
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Mccrani)
Series: Mccranie, Stephen, 1987- Mal and Chad ; 1.

Fourth grade genius Mal and his talking dog Chad shrink themselves to microscopic size and travel through time, but girls and the school bully present bigger challenges.


Meanwhile

Jason Shiga
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Shiga)

Jimmy explores the lab of a mad scientist in this Choose Your Own Adventure-style graphic novel.


Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Jamieso)

As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.


Smile

Raina Telgemeier
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Telgeme)

Raina trips while running and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. From 6th grade to high school, she deals with dental drama, boy confusion, a major earthquake, and not-so-friendly friends.


Tippy and the Night Parade

Lilli Carré
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Carre)
Series: Easy-to-read comics. Level 1

Follow Tippy on a nocturnal adventure through mist, up a mountain, down a hole, and back home.


Zebrafish

Sharon Emerson
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Emerson)
Series: Zebrafish

When their rock band becomes popular, five middle schoolers use their new fame to generate awareness (and donations) for an important cause.


Graphic Novels for Younger Elementary School

Benny & Penny in Just Pretend: A Toon Book

Geoffrey Hayes
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Hayes)
Series: Benny & Penny

Benny wants to play pirates without his little sister Penny. But when Penny really disappears, Benny becomes very worried. Look for More Benny and Penny titles.


Otto's Orange Day

Frank Cammuso
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Cammuso)

After a genie fulfills Otto the cat's wish by turning the whole world orange, Otto realizes that his favorite color is not the best color for everything.


Owly: The Way Home & The Bittersweet Summer

Andy Runton
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Runton)

Owly is a kind and lonely little owl who's always on the lookout for new friends and new adventures. Look for more Owly titles.


Silly Lilly and the Four Seasons

Agnes Rosenstiehl
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Rosenst)

Follows a young girl named Lilly as she enjoys different activities during each season of the year. Look for more Silly Lilly titles.


Sticky Burr: Adventures in Burrwood Forest

John Lechner
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Lechner)

Sticky Burr and his friends come to the rescue when the village in Burrwood Forest is attacked by wild dogs. Look for more Sticky Burr titles.


Stinky

Eleanor Davis
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Davis)

Stinky is a monster who loves pickles and possums but is terrified of people! When a new kid enters his swamp, this adorable little monster comes up with all sorts of crazy plans to scare him away.


Graphic Novels for Older Elementary School

Bone. 1, Out From Boneville

Jeff Smith
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Smith)
Series: Bone

The Bone series tells the story of Fone Bone, and his two cousins, Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone, who are banned from their homeland of Boneville. When the cousins find themselves mysteriously trapped in a wonderful but often terrifying land filled with secrets and danger they are soon caught up in adventures beyond their wildest dreams. Look for more Bone titles.


Houdini: The Handcuff King

Jason Lutes
(Juvenile Graphic Novel - J Lut)

A graphic novel account of the most death-defying jump Harry Houdini ever attempted as well as a behind-the-scenes look at how he prepared for and performed the escape.


Jellaby

Kean Soo
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Soo)
Series: Jellaby

Not long after Portia Bennett and her mother move to a new town to start their lives over, Portia discovers a huge purple monster she names Jellaby.


Kampung Boy

Lat
(Juvenile Graphic Novel - J Lat)

Relates the life experiences of a boy growing up on a rubber plantation in rural Malaysia.


Korgi Book 1

Christian Slade
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Slade)

A wordless graphic novel about a young girl named Ivy, her dog Sprout, and their amazing adventures in Korgi Hollow. Look for more Korgi titles.


Mouse Guard Vol. 1 Fall 1152

David Petersen
(Juvenile Graphic Novel - J Peterso)

Adventures of three mice, Saxon, Kenzie, and Lieam who patrol borders, and strive to make safeways to keep the mouse territories free from predators.


Rapunzel's Revenge

Shannon Hale
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Hale)

In this Old West retelling, Rapunzel uses her hair as both a lasso and as a weapon to take on outlaws--including Gothel, the woman she calls Mother.


Trickster: Native American Tales: A Graphic Collection

Matt Dembicki
(Juvenile Graphic Novels - J Trickst)

The Collection includes over twenty trickster stories from various Native American traditions.