New Children's First Chapter Books

New arrivals added to our Children's First Chapter Books Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

RSS

Sign up for new Children's First Chapter Books emails

Title Date addedsort descending
The worst fairy godmother ever! by Aronson, Sarah, author. The worst fairy godmother ever!

Fairy-godmother-in-training Isabelle doesn't know what gusto is, but she's pretty sure she has what it takes to pass fairy godmother training with flying colors. But then Isabelle is assigned a practice princess who is not a princess at all. Nora is just a normal girl -- a normal girl who doesn't believe in fairy godmothers, or wishes come true, or happily ever afters. Isabelle has to change Nora's mind about magic and grant a wish for her. If she can't, Isabelle will flunk training and never be

Jul 21, 2017
Peter Powers and the rowdy robot raiders! by Clark, Kent. Peter Powers and the rowdy robot raiders!

If you like the Avengers, Justice League, or The Incredibles, then you'll love this family of superheroes! This new chapter book series is perfect for reluctant readers. Everyone in Peter Powers' family has super awesome superpowers--except Peter. All he can do is make ice cubes and flash freeze little stuff. At least his brother and sister have finally stopped picking on him--mostly. But at school, an even more menacing bully has it out for Peter and his friends. As if that wasn't enough, Bould

Jul 21, 2017
Peter Powers and the itchy insect invasion! by Clark, Kent, author. Peter Powers and the itchy insect invasion!

If you like the Avengers, Justice League, or The Incredibles, then you'll love this family of superheroes! This new chapter book series is perfect for reluctant readers. Everyone in Peter Powers' family has super awesome superpowers--except Peter. All he can do is make ice cubes and freeze little stuff. He's also afraid of insects. (And why wouldn't he be? The pests are creepy and crawly and like to bite.) Too bad, two new villains have come to town, bringing swarms of bugs with them. With the t

Jul 21, 2017
Jasmine Toguchi, super sleuth by Florence, Debbi Michiko, author. Jasmine Toguchi, super sleuth

Jasmine has looked forward to spending Girls Day with her family and best friend, Linnie, but first her sister says she will not participate, and then Jasmine upsets Linnie.

Jul 21, 2017
Daisy Dreamer and the world of make-believe by Anna, Holly, author. Daisy Dreamer and the world of make-believe

"Daisy Dreamer's totally true imaginary friend, Posey, invites her to explore his amazing world of make believe"--

Jul 21, 2017
The curse of Einstein's pencil by Zemke, Deborah. The curse of Einstein's pencil

Bea’s artistic gifts lead to a special new friendship in book two of this funny illustrated chapter book series for fans of Amelia’s Notebook and Judy Moody. Bea Garcia is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one—the smartest girl in school, Judith Einstein. So when Einstein asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled...at first. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein's special pencil. But when Bea

Jul 21, 2017
Aleca Zamm is ahead of her time by Rue, Ginger, author. Aleca Zamm is ahead of her time

Every roller-skating party has its pooper…And for Aleca Zamm, that pooper is Madison, her former best friend and current worst enemy. But Aleca’s mom insisted that Aleca invite her entire class to her tenth birthday party at the skating rink—including queen-of-mean Madison! What’s even worse? Aleca suspects that Madison knows about Aleca’s magical ability to freeze time. And that could mean over-the-top trouble for Aleca and Aunt Zephyr, her kooky teleporting aunt. There’s no telling what danger

Jul 21, 2017
Aleca Zamm is a wonder by Rue, Ginger, author. Aleca Zamm is a wonder

Meet the wonder-full Aleca Zamm, an ordinary ten-year-old with an extraordinary ability: she can stop time! Aleca Zamm has finally reached double digits and she still doesn’t have a “thing”—a special talent or ability that will make her stand out. Her best friend, Maria, has a thing (swim team); her sister, Dylan, has a thing (singing); and even her former BFF Madison has a thing (soccer). But Aleca? No. Thing. Until the day of her tenth birthday when Aleca discovers she can stop time just by sa

Jul 21, 2017
Princess lessons by Pearl, Alexa, 1967- author. Princess lessons

Sasha discovers that she is princess of the flying horses, but before she can begin her duties she must take lessons and pass a Princess Test, with help from family and friends.

Jul 22, 2017
Monsters and mold by Citro, Asia, author. Monsters and mold

A girl, Zoey, and her cat, Sassafras use science experiments to help a monster with a problem.

Jul 22, 2017
Lola Levine and the Halloween scream by Brown, Monica, 1969- author. Lola Levine and the Halloween scream

Lola Levine is ready to celebrate her favorite holiday in the sixth book in this charming chapter book series by acclaimed author Monica Brown. It's Halloween--Lola and Ben's favorite holiday. She loves pumpkins, scary costumes, monsters, and ghosts--and she likes to scare people, too. But when Lola plays a scary joke on her super best friends, Josh Blot and Bella Benitez, it doesn't go as planned. Can Lola learn from her mistake and still have a happy halloween?

Jul 22, 2017
How to rope a Giganotosaurus by Dare, Will, author. How to rope a Giganotosaurus

After recording the facts in his Dino Cowboy Diary about the biggest dinosaur in existence, Josh brings his friends Sam and Abi along on his mission to capture one.

Jul 24, 2017
The rainstorm brainstorm by Tripp, Valerie, 1951- author. The rainstorm brainstorm

The WellieWishers want to give Aunt Miranda something special for her birthday, and when Kendall discovers the Tomorrow Pile, a bunch of old, dirty, broken things, she sees the potential to make some cool stuff.

Jul 25, 2017
Poppy and the mane mania by Lewman, David, author. Poppy and the mane mania

Poppy and her friends are getting their hair done for a big party when they learn that Karma has disappeared while searching for a flower to put in her hair, so they go to the rescue, no matter what the dangerous journey does to their hairdos.

Jul 25, 2017
Branch and the cooking castastrophe by Lewman, David, author. Branch and the cooking castastrophe

Branch and King Gristle discover that planning the menu for a picnic celebrating the new friendship between the Trolls and the Bergens is not easy since the two groups have very different tastes in food.

Jul 25, 2017

Pages