New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

RSS

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails>

Titlesort ascending Date added
The murder of Willie Lincoln by Solomon, Burt, author. The murder of Willie Lincoln

"Washington City, 1862: The United States lies in tatters, and there seems no end to the war. Abraham Lincoln, the legitimate President of the United States, is using all his will to keep his beloved land together. But Lincoln's will and soul are tested when tragedy strikes the White House as Willie Lincoln, the love and shining light in the president's heart, is taken by typhoid fever. But was this really the cause of his death? A message arrives, suggesting otherwise. Lincoln asks John Hay, hi

Feb 21, 2017
The Mermaid's Scream by Ellis, Kate The Mermaid's Scream

Feb 26, 2017
The lost woman by Blædel, Sara, author. The lost woman

A housewife is the target of a shocking, methodical killing. Shot with a hunting rifle through her kitchen window, the woman is dead before she hits the ground. Though murdered in England, it turns out that the woman, Sofie Parker, is actually a Danish citizen who's been on the Missing Persons list for almost two decades-so Louise Rick is called on to the case. Then, in an unexpected twist, the police discover that Sofie had been reported missing eighteen years ago by none other than Eik, Loui

Feb 20, 2017
The Last Chance Olive Ranch by Albert, Susan Wittig, author. The Last Chance Olive Ranch

"In this exciting new mystery from New York Times bestselling author Susan Wittig Albert, China Bayles fears for her husband's life as an escaped convict targets him... Max Mantel, the killer McQuaid put away years ago, has busted out of Huntsville Prisonand appears to be headed for Pecan Springs. McQuaid knows there's only one way to stop the vengeful convict--set a trap with himself as bait. China wants to stay by her husband's side and keep him from harm. But McQuaid insists that she get out

Feb 20, 2017
The Language of Solitude by Sendker, Jan-Philipp The Language of Solitude

Feb 23, 2017
The killing bay by Ould, Chris, author. The killing bay

"When a group of international activists arrive on the Faroe Islands, intent on stopping the traditional whale hunts, tensions between islanders and protestors run high. And when a woman is found viciously murdered only hours after a violent confrontation, the circumstances seem purposely designed to increase animosity between the two sides. As English DI Jan Reyna and local detective Hjalti Hentze investigate, it becomes increasingly clear that the murder has other, more sinister aspects to it,

Feb 21, 2017
The Killing Bay by Ould, Chris The Killing Bay

Feb 20, 2017
The good byline - a Riley Ellison mystery by Orr, Jill, author. The good byline - a Riley Ellison mystery

"The Good Byline follows Riley Ellison, a smart, quirky young heroine with Southern charm to boot. Riley feels adrift in her small hometown of Tuttle Corner, VA, newly single and bemoaning the decline of print journalism, which has dashed her long-held dream of succeeding her grandfather as an obituary writer at the local newspaper. When her childhood best friend commits suicide with no warning, Julie's grieving family asks Riley to write her obituary. As she investigates why such an ambitious y

Feb 23, 2017
The Girl Who Was Taken by Donlea, Charlie The Girl Who Was Taken

Feb 26, 2017
The English agent by DePoy, Phillip, author. The English agent

"In 1583, young Christopher Marlowe--student, brawler, rakehell, and would-be playwright--has had a dreadful evening. The first performance of his play in the corner of a very disreputable Cambridge bar is a humiliating flop, and then he's attacked on the streets while in the company of Thomas Kyd. So when Francis Walsingham, Queen Elizabeth's spymaster, sends for him, Marlowe is only too happy to go. The assignment is go to Holland, where England's ally, William the Silent, is the target of a S

Feb 21, 2017
The enemy within by Marston, Edward, author. The enemy within

Pentonville Prison. Wally Hubbard is serving a long sentence for arson. But after befriending and tricking one of the officers, Hubbard makes an audacious escape. Inspector Marmion, the detective who arrested Hubbard, is warned to watch his back, but it seems that Hubbard has another target in his murderous sights. However, the investigation is mired in confusion, the identities of killer and victim become increasingly ambiguous. An inmate at an internment camp who might be a spy sending intelli

Feb 24, 2017
The curse of La Fontaine - a Verlaque and Bonnet mystery by Longworth, M. L. (Mary Lou), 1963- The curse of La Fontaine - a Verlaque and Bonnet mystery

"In the latest captivating installment of M. L. Longworth's acclaimed Verlaque & Bonnet Provenc¸al Mystery series, the newlywed investigators contend with their most sinister challenge yet: a centuries-old curse...Chef Bear Valets has just opened his ownrestaurant, La Fontaine, in Aix-en-Provence. It's an immediate success--great reviews and a loyal clientele, including Verlaque and Bonnet. But when he decides to extend his restaurant's seating into an historic courtyard, some very powerful neig

Feb 23, 2017
The crow trap by Cleeves, Ann, author. The crow trap

Three very different women come together to complete an environmental survey. Three women who, in some way or another, know the meaning of betrayal....For team leader Rachael Lambert the project is the perfect opportunity to rebuild her confidence after a double-betrayal by her lover and boss, Peter Kemp. Botanist Anne Preece, on the other hand, sees it as a chance to indulge in a little deception of her own. And then there is Grace Fulwell, a strange, uncommunicative young woman with plenty of

Feb 21, 2017
The Cheltenham Square murder by Bude, John, 1901-1957, author. The Cheltenham Square murder

In the seeming tranquility of Regency Square in Cheltenham live the diverse inhabitants of its ten houses. One summer's evening, the square's rivalries and allegiances are disrupted by a sudden and unusual death - an arrow to the head, shot through an open window at no. 6.Unfortunately for the murderer, an invitation to visit had just been sent by the crime writer Aldous Barnet, staying with his sister at no. 8, to his friend Superintendent Meredith. Three days after his arrival, Meredith finds

Feb 23, 2017
The case of the curious cook - a WISE Enquiries Agency mystery by Ace, Cathy, 1960- author. The case of the curious cook - a WISE Enquiries Agency mystery

Henry Twyst, eighteenth Duke of Chellingworth, retains the services of a local book restorer to tackle much-needed repairs to his book collection. This antiquarian also runs the Crooks and Cooks bookshop with his daughter - local TV celebrity chef, The Curious Cook. When the book restorer mentions some strange shenanigans going on at the bookshop, Dowager Duchess Althea brings the case to her colleagues at the WISE Enquiries Agency. As the WISE women try to unravel one puzzle from their base at

Feb 20, 2017
The book of mirrors - a novel by Chirovici, Eugen-Ovidiu, author. The book of mirrors - a novel

An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter , this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried. When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors , he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the

Feb 21, 2017
The amok runners by Cotterill, Colin, author. The amok runners

For followers of Colin Cotterill's Jimm Juree mystery series, here is new novel for your enjoyment. It is a prequel to the three published books with our intrepid lady journalist and her rather unique family still living in Chiang Mai. Becoming an extra along with her two brothers, Arny and Sissy, on an American movie with Hollywood stars being shot in the north of Thailand, she stumbles upon murder and mayhem while at the same time being part of an ancient treasure hunt. As usual it would be wr

Feb 20, 2017
The 12.30 from Croydon by Crofts, Freeman Wills, 1879-1957. The 12.30 from Croydon

Andrew Crowther, a wealthy retired manufacturer, is found dead in his seat on the 12:30 flight from Croydon to Paris.

Feb 20, 2017
That Empty Feeling by Corris, Peter That Empty Feeling

Feb 26, 2017
Swiss vendetta - a mystery by De Hahn, Tracee, author. Swiss vendetta - a mystery

Inspector Agnes Luthi, a Swiss-American police officer in Lausanne, Switzerland, has just transferred to the Violent Crimes unit from Financial Crimes to try to shed all reminders of her old life following her husband's death. Now, on the eve of the worst blizzard Lausanne has seen in centuries, Agnes has been called to investigate her very first homicide case. On the lawn of the grand Chateau Vallotton, at the edge of Lac Leman, a young woman has been found stabbed to death. The woman, an appra

Feb 23, 2017

Pages