New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

RSS

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails>

Titlesort descending Date added
The Scientology murders - a dead detective novel by Heffernan, William, 1940- author. The Scientology murders - a dead detective novel

Detective Harry Doyle investigates a series of murders that also leaves his adoptive father seriously wounded. Attempting to expose a private religious institution's long-kept secrets, the investigation takes Harry and his partner, Vicky Stanopolis, to the far reaches of the country to find their answers. Harry's ability to hear the postmortem whispers of murder victims-- a remnant from when he was murdered at age ten and then brought back to life-- may come in handy.

May 26, 2017
The secret hangman by Lovesey, Peter, author. The secret hangman

Peter Diamond, still traumatized by the murder of his wife, finds himself again at odds with his superior, Assistant Chief Constable Georgina Dallymore, when his investigation into the separate hangings of a woman and her one-time partner suggests that both were murdered, contrary to the ACC's belief that they were victims of a murder-suicide.

May 22, 2017
The sins of the wolf by Perry, Anne. The sins of the wolf

In Edinburgh, Nurse Hester Latterly, a veteran of the Crimean War, is accused of murder after the rich woman she was escorting in a train dies from an overdose of medicine. It's a setup, of course, and Inspector Monk rushes to the rescue. By the author of The Hyde Park Headsman.

May 27, 2017
The Sixth Victim by Harris, Tessa The Sixth Victim

May 22, 2017
The state counsellor - a Fandorin mystery by Akunin, B. (Boris), author. The state counsellor - a Fandorin mystery

May 22, 2017
The stranger Inside by Jaynes, Jennifer. The stranger Inside

After mystery author Diane Christie loses her husband to suicide, she and her son move to the small coastal town of Fog Harbor, Massachusetts. Her daughter is attending college nearby, and Diane hopes that her family can now begin to heal. But rebuilding their lives after the tragedy isnt so simple. Dianes depressed college-age daughter, Alexa, still avoids her, critical of everything Diane does, and even her generally amiable teenage son, Josh, has started acting out. Diane pushes forward, focu

May 22, 2017
The surgeon's case by Rodford, E. G, author. The surgeon's case

May 27, 2017
The third Nero by Davis, Lindsey, author. The third Nero

"In 90 A.D., following the Saturninus revolt in Germany, the Emperor Domitian has become more paranoid about traitors and dissenters around him. This leads to several senators and even provincial governors facing charges and being executed for supposed crimes of conspiracy and insulting the emperor. Wanting to root out all the supports of Saturninus from the Senate, one of Domitian's men offers to hire Flavia Alba to do some intelligence work. Flavia Alba, daughter and chip off the old block of

May 22, 2017
The thirst - [a new Harry Hole novel] by Nesbø, Jo, 1960- author. The thirst - [a new Harry Hole novel]

"Harry Hole returns in the eleventh installment of the best-selling, electrifying crime fiction series that includes The Bat, The Snowman, and, most recently, Police. In Police--the last novel featuring Jo Nesbø's hard-bitten, maverick Oslo detective--a killer wreaking revenge on the police had Harry Hole fighting for the safety of the people closest to him. Now, in The Thirst, the story continues as Harry is inextricably drawn back into the Oslo police force. A serial murderer has begun targeti

May 22, 2017
The tiger in the smoke by Allingham, Margery, 1904-1966, author. The tiger in the smoke

Eerie London fog complicates detective work for Albert Campion as he sets out to put an end to the activities of the "Tiger" and his evil mob.

May 27, 2017
The Weight of Lies by Carpenter, Emily The Weight of Lies

May 22, 2017
The weight of night - a novel of suspense by Carbo, Christine, author. The weight of night - a novel of suspense

"In the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park, a devastating forest fire reveals a long ago crime that may be connected to the recent disappearance of a young boy, from the award-winning author of The Wild Inside and Mortal Fall--perfectfor fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box. In a land sculpted by glaciers, the forest is on fire. Thick smoke chokes the mountain air and casts a twilight glow over the imposing mountains and vistas of Montana's Glacier National Park. When firefight

May 22, 2017
The white feather murders by McMillan, Rachel, 1981- author. The white feather murders

"Toronto, 1914. Merinda Herringford and Jem Watts never could have imagined their crime-solving skills would set them up as emblems of female empowerment in a city preparing to enter World War I at the behest of Great Britain. Yet, despite their popularity, the lady detectives can't avoid the unrest infiltrating every level of society. A war measure adopted by Mayor Montague puts a target on Jem and her Italian husband. Meanwhile, deep-rooted corruption in the police force convinces their friend

May 22, 2017
Three Drops of Blood and a Cloud of Cocaine by Mouron, Quentin/ Wilson, Donald (TRN) Three Drops of Blood and a Cloud of Cocaine

May 22, 2017
Too lucky to live by Hogsett, Annie, author. Too lucky to live

The hot guy arrives first: he's in a crosswalk clutching a bag of groceries while a blonde in a Hummer is learning hard on her horn, sending the man's groceries and white cane flying. How has this woman missed that fact that the man is blind? From the curb, an outraged Allie jumps to his rescue, rebagging the groceries as well.The money is in the bag. Literally- Thomas Bennington III, for that's who the handsome guy proves to be, has bought a MondoMegaJackpot ticket along with canned tomatoes. A

May 22, 2017
Treble at the jam fest by Budewitz, Leslie, author. Treble at the jam fest

Erin Murphy, manager of Glacier Mercantile (aka the Merc), is tuning up for Jewel Bay’s annual Jazz Festival. Between keeping the Merc’s shelves stocked with Montana’s tastiest local fare and hosting the festival’s kick-off concert, Erin has her hands full. Discord erupts when jazz guitarist Gerry Martin plummets to his death from the rocks above the Jewel River. The one-time international sensation had fallen out of sync with festival organizers, students, and performers. Was his death an accid

May 22, 2017
Trinidad noir - the classics by Trinidad noir - the classics

May 22, 2017
Two nights - a novel by Reichs, Kathy, author. Two nights - a novel

"A childhood spent in a dangerous cult left Sunday Night never with a bone-deep instinct for survival that's kept her alive into adulthood but left her mostly friendless. Forced into early retirement from the police force due to an injury, Sunnie retreatsfrom an outside world she doesn't trust and sees little use for, until a wealthy woman contacts her with a plea: her teenage granddaughter has been missing since the day of a bombing near a Jewish school. Suspecting the work of religious extremi

May 22, 2017
Uncorking a lie by Nettmann, Nadine, 1980- author. Uncorking a lie

It was the kind of invitation Katie Stillwell had only dreamed about: a dinner party at the Sonoma mansion of famed wine collector Paul Rafferty to celebrate a rare bottle of wine. Everyone enjoys drinking the $19,000 wine, but Katie realizes it's not the older vintage listed on the label. When she confides in Mr. Rafferty, he asks her to investigate, and she soon discovers the deception goes beyond money. As Katie falls deeper into the world of counterfeit wine, she learns everything is at stak

May 22, 2017
Vengeance is mine by Fluke, Joanne, 1943- author. Vengeance is mine

As a family clinic administrator, Michele Layton has seen her share of suffering. But never anything like this. Not here in St. Cloud, Minnesota. A local activist has been found murdered, his body frozen like a statue and placed in a Winter Carnival ice sculpture display. Next a vicious hate crime puts a man in the ICU. And locked away in the Holy Rest mental ward, a deranged man of the cloth prays for more sinners to be punished-and waits for a sign from above. These seemingly random acts lead

May 28, 2017

Pages