New Adult Books-on-CD

New Arrivals Added To Our Adult Books-on-CD Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Book-on-CD emails

Titlesort icon Date added
The underground railroad - a novel by Whitehead, Colson, 1969- author.

The underground railroad - a novel

A magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape. Though they manage to find a station and head north, they are being hunted.

Aug 30, 2016
The trouble with goats and sheep - a novel by Cannon, Joanna, author.

The trouble with goats and sheep - a novel

England, 1976. Mrs. Creasy is missing and the Avenue is alive with whispers. The neighbors blame her sudden disappearance on the heat wave, but ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly aren't convinced. As the summer shimmers endlessly on, the girls decide to take matters into their own hands. Inspired by the local vicar, they go looking for God; they believe that if they find Him they might also find Mrs. Creasy and bring her home. Spunky, spirited Grace and frail, nervous Tilly go door to door in search

Aug 30, 2016
The Three-Body Problem by Liu, Cixin.

The Three-Body Problem

Set against the backdrop of China's Cultural Revolution, a secret military project sends signals into space to establish contact with aliens. An alien civilization on the brink of destruction captures the signal and plans to invade Earth. Meanwhile, on Earth, different camps start forming, planning to either welcome the superior beings and help them take over a world seen as corrupt, or to fight against the invasion. The result is a science fiction masterpiece of enormous scope and vision.

Aug 29, 2016
The star-touched queen by Chokshi, Roshani, author.

The star-touched queen

"Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran's queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar's wife, she finds something

Aug 25, 2016
The rise and fall of nations - forces of change in the post-crisis world by Sharma, Ruchir, author.

The rise and fall of nations - forces of change in the post-crisis world

A reevaluation of economics as a practical art form distills economics into ten succinct rules while discussing how to recognize political, economic, and social changes that affect everyday life.

Aug 23, 2016
The painter's daughter by Klassen, Julie, 1964-

The painter's daughter

In 1815, a painter's daughter on the north Devon coast agrees to marry a stranger to avoid scandal, but her choice is complicated by the return of a former lover and a growing affection for the husband she barely knows.

Aug 30, 2016
The one man - a novel by Gross, Andrew, 1952- author.

The one man - a novel

Nathan Blum works behind a desk at an intelligence office in Washington, DC, but he longs to contribute to the war effort in a more meaningful way, and he has a particular skill set the U.S. suddenly needs. Nathan is fluent in German and Polish, he is Semitic looking, and he proved his scrappiness at a young age when he escaped from the Polish ghetto. Now, the government wants him to take on the most dangerous assignment of his life: Nathan must sneak into Auschwitz, on a mission to find and esc

Aug 30, 2016
The muse by Burton, Jessie, 1982- author.

The muse

A captivating and brilliantly realized story of two young women, a Caribbean immigrant in 1960s London, and a bohemian woman in 1930s Spain, and the powerful mystery that ties them together.

Aug 25, 2016
The mind-gut connection - how the hidden conversation within our bodies impacts our mood, our choices, and our overall health by Mayer, Emeran A., author.

The mind-gut connection - how the hidden conversation within our bodies impacts our mood, our choices, and our overall health

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and body. We have all experienced the connection between our mind and our gut--the decision we made because it "felt right;" the butterflies in our stomach before a big meeting; the anxious stomach rumbling when we're stressed out. While the dialogue between the gut

Aug 30, 2016
The Kept Woman by Slaughter, Karin.

The Kept Woman

It's the most dangerous case of Will Trent's career. He knows this from the moment he sets foot in the abandoned Atlanta warehouse where a body lies on the floor; the body of an ex-cop. Bloody footprints leading away from the scene reveal that another victim, evidently a woman, was carried away, and has vanished into thin air. And, worst of all, the warehouse belongs to the city's biggest and most high-profile athlete; a local hero protected by the world's most expensive lawyers. A hero married

Aug 29, 2016
The jealous kind - a novel by Burke, James Lee, 1936- author.

The jealous kind - a novel

On its surface, life in Houston in the 1950s is as you'd expect: stoic fathers, restless teens, drive-in movies, and souped-up Cadillacs. But underneath lies a world shifting under high school junior Aaron Broussard's feet. There's a class war between the 'haves' and the 'have-nots' as well as a real war, Korea, happening on the other side of the world. It is against this backdrop that Aaron comes of age, trying to understand how first loves, friendship, violence, and power can alter what "tradi

Aug 25, 2016
The inseparables a novel by Nadler, Stuart, author.

The inseparables a novel

Henrietta Olyphant has lost her husband, her money, and is about to lose her hard won anonymity. At the same time, her daughter Oona is in the middle of a divorce, and has begun an affair with her therapist. Oona's teenaged daughter Lydia faces scrutiny and shame when a nude photo unintentionally circulates around her boarding school. In the wake of these upheavals, the women come together unexpectedly to sift through the mess.

Aug 23, 2016
The indwelling - the beast takes possession - a novel of the earth's last days by LaHaye, Tim, 1926-2016.

The indwelling - the beast takes possession - a novel of the earth's last days

The world mourns the death of its leader, Nicholae Carpathia. The resulting assassination has caused many members of the Tribulation Force to go on the run. However, when Nicholae Carpathia rises from the dead, he proclaims himself a god, signaling the beginning of Armageddon.

Aug 23, 2016
The girl with the lower back tattoo by Schumer, Amy, author, narrator.

The girl with the lower back tattoo

Never one to shy away from the uproarious, challenging, and remarkable moments that make up life, this exceptionally candid book will have readers wincing with recognition, nodding their head in solidarity, and laughing out loud. Written with Amy's signature candor, she reflects on her often raucous childhood antics, her hard won and incomparable rise to comedic stardom, and the courage it takes to approach the world with astounding honesty every single day.

Aug 25, 2016
The Games by Goldblatt, David.

The Games

David Goldblatt delivers a magisterial history of the biggest sporting event of them all: the Olympics.

Aug 29, 2016
The fifth child by Lessing, Doris, 1919-2013, author.

The fifth child

A self-satisfied couple intent on raising a happy family is shocked by the birth of an abnormal and brutal fifth child.

Aug 30, 2016
The end of white Christian America by Jones, Robert P. (Robert Patrick), author.

The end of white Christian America

Drawing on more than four decades of polling data, Robert P. Jones explains and analyzes the waning vitality of WCA. Jones argues that the visceral nature of today2s most heated issues; the vociferous arguments around same-sex marriage and religious liberty, the rise of the Tea Party following the election of the first black president, and stark disagreements between black and white Americans over the fairness of the criminal justice system, can only be understood against the backdrop of white C

Aug 23, 2016
The couple next door by Lapeña, Shari, 1960- author.

The couple next door

""I read this novel at one sitting, absolutely riveted by the storyline. The suspense was beautifully rendered and unrelenting!"--Sue Grafton, New York Times bestselling author of X "Meticulously crafted and razor-sharp. THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR lingers long after you turn the final page."--Harlan Coben, #1New York Times bestselling author of Fool Me Once "Provocative and shocking."--Lisa Gardner, the New York Times bestselling author of Find Her How well do you know the couple next door? Or your hu

Aug 30, 2016
Tell the Truth & Shame the Devil by McSpadden, Lezley.

Tell the Truth & Shame the Devil

Revelatory memoir by the mother of Michael Brown, the African American teenager killed by the police officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri, in 2014, sheds light on one of the landmark events in recent history.

Aug 29, 2016
Sunday kind of love by Garlock, Dorothy, author.

Sunday kind of love

Gwendolyn Foster is thrown when her boyfriend proposes to her in front of her parents. He's just the man her parents always dreamed she'd marry, but she has another dream altogether, to be a writer, and she won't rest until she makes that dream come true. Then Hank comes into her life. Drowning in grief and pain since his little brother died a few months ago, something inside Hank comes alive again when he sees Gwen. He wants to help her become a writer, but can they build a future together when

Aug 30, 2016