New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Titlesort icon Date added
A dance at the slaughterhouse - a Matthew Scudder crime novel by Block, Lawrence.

A dance at the slaughterhouse - a Matthew Scudder crime novel

Private investigator Matthew Scudder searches for the missing link between two horrific crimes -- the rape-murder of wealthy Amanda Thurman and a snuff film involving a young homeless boy.

Nov 25, 2014
A deadly indifference by Jevons, Marshall, author.

A deadly indifference

Nov 25, 2014
A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery by McPherson, Catriona, 1965-

A deadly measure of brimstone - a Dandy Gilver mystery

"Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and p

Nov 25, 2014
A dog gone murder by Viets, Elaine, 1950- author.

A dog gone murder

Josie has been asked to investigate Uncle Bob's Doggy Day Camp, known for its commercials featuring Uncle Bob liking dogs so much that he acts like one. But Josie soon learns how Uncle Bob acts when the cameras are off. Her mother's new tenant, Franklin, who works for Uncle Bob, plans to quit after seeing the man's true nature. But before he gets the chance, Bob is murdered, and Franklin goes from the doghouse to the big house. Now it's up to Josie to clear Franklin's name. Her investigation rev

Nov 25, 2014
A high-end finish by Carlisle, Kate, 1951- author.

A high-end finish

Shannon Hammer, owner of a successful home renovation and repair business in the seaside town of Lighthouse Cove in northern California, is the prime suspect in the murder of real estate agent Jerry Saxton. After the two of them go on a disastrous blind date, Jerry's body is found in a run-down Victorian home that Shannon has been hired to restore. The town's attractive new police chief suspects Shannon, who, with the help of her friends, her eccentric father, and a handsome crime writer who's j

Nov 25, 2014
A letter of Mary - a Mary Russell novel by King, Laurie R.

A letter of Mary - a Mary Russell novel

From Edgar Award-winning author Laurie R. King, this national bestseller has met unprecedented acclaim from critics as diverse as "The New York Times Book Review": " a lively adventure in the very best of intellectual company". The case of an amateur archaeologist whose discoveries in the Holy Land may have resulted in her murder, this novel finds the inimitable duo of Russell and Holmes in superlative form. Martin's Press.

Nov 25, 2014
A New York Christmas - a novel by Perry, Anne.

A New York Christmas - a novel

"Anne Perry's new Christmas novel is an irresistible tale of love, betrayal, greed, murder, and selfless devotion. For the first time, Perry's annual yuletide offering is set in New York City--a sparkling young metropolis bursting with life, promise, and subtle menace. The year is 1904. Twenty-three-year-old Jemima Pitt, the daughter of Thomas Pitt, head of the Special Branch of the Metropolitan Police, is crossing the Atlantic as companion to Delphinia Cardew, who is to marry the aristocratic B

Nov 25, 2014
A noble radiance by Leon, Donna.

A noble radiance

An unassuming uninhabited farmhouse in the Italian countryside delivers up its gruesome secret when its overgrown grounds are cleared for the first time in decades. What is left of the decomposing body is of little help to the urgently summoned Brunetti...until a distinctively valuable signet ring, found nearby, links the mangled remains to a kidnapped scion of Venetian aristocracy.

Nov 25, 2014
A tightly raveled mind by Lawson, Diane.

A tightly raveled mind

"Sigmund Freud would have liked a mixed-up dish like Dr. Nora Goodman, a sexy forty-something psychoanalyst with whacko rich patients who can't seem to allow themselves happiness, love or success. She's not exactly a steady customer herself, born to a ranting bipolar Talmud scholar and a mother with a heart as cold as a Chicago slaughterhouse. But now she has two kids and an overbearing psychiatrist husband. She hates him. She hates his Jewish old money world. Nora wants a new life sans husband

Nov 25, 2014
A virtuous death by Trent, Christine, author.

A virtuous death

"Queen Victoria, still mourning her long-dead husband Prince Albert, has found solace in John Brown, an enigmatic palace servant who dabbles in the occult and keeps the grieving queen entertained with his tarot card readings. Undertaker Violet Harper is invited to attend one of Mr. Brown's infamous readings, during which he implies that Buckingham Palace will soon be shrouded in death's dark veil. Well acquainted with death, Violet shrugs him off as a charlatan--until his sinister divinations be

Nov 25, 2014
And grant you peace - a Joe Burgess mystery by Flora, Kate, 1949-

And grant you peace - a Joe Burgess mystery

"A boy rapping on his car window summons Portland police detective Joe Burgess to a fire at a nearby mosque, where he finds a screaming woman and her baby locked in a closet. The baby dies. The very young mother survives, but suffers from traumatic muteness. She has no ID and no one has reported her missing. Autopsy shows the gravely ill baby would have needed surgery to survive. Burgess suspects someone was trying to keep mother and baby away from hospitals that might have asked questions. As B

Nov 25, 2014
Aunt Dimity's good deed by Atherton, Nancy.

Aunt Dimity's good deed

Nancy Atherton's growing number of fans will certainly be delighted by Aunt Dimity's latest appearance in the honey-colored English cottage she bequeathed to her "niece," Lori Shepherd. Thanks to Aunt Dimity, Lori's life has taken on fairy-tale proportions: she's financially set for life and happily married--or so she thinks. When Lori's plans for a second honeymoon to England with her workaholic husband fall through, she begrudgingly takes along her father-in-law--who promptly disappears, leavi

Nov 19, 2014
Bad country - a novel by McKenzie, C. B.

Bad country - a novel

"The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, a debut mystery set in the Southwest starring a former rodeo cowboy turned private investigator, told in a transfixingly original style. Rodeo Grace Garnet lives alone, save for his old dog, in a remote corner of Arizona known to locals as the Hole. He doesn't get many visitors, but a body found near his home has drawn police attention to his front door. The victim is not one of the many illegal immigrants who risk their lives to cross the border j

Nov 25, 2014
Bed of nails by Varenne, Antonin, 1973-

Bed of nails

"When John Nichols arrives to identify the body of an old friend, he is immediately caught up in the detritus of Alan Musgrave's life, the side of Paris the tourists don't see, where everyone has a past but very few count on a future. But what can he expect from a man who bled to death in his own excruciating S&M stage show? Now there's a maverick police lieutenant on the prowl who thinks that Musgrave's suicide was murder. Gue´rin might not look like much, but he's one of the few honest office

Nov 25, 2014
Black karma - a White Ginger novel by Robinson, Thatcher, 1952-

Black karma - a White Ginger novel

"Bai Jiang--San Francisco's best-known souxun ("people finder")--is hired to track down the mysterious Daniel Chen. Police inspector Kelly suspects Chen of being involved in a botched drug heist that resulted in the death of an officer. Bai has her own suspicions. She thinks the police just want to see Chen dead. Her investigation leads Bai into deadly intrigue as she finds herself caught between international intelligence agencies and merchants of war, who deal in death, drugs, and high-jacked

Nov 25, 2014
Bloody politics by Sefton, Maggie.

Bloody politics

"The jogger's throat was cut, leaving a pool of blood on the pedestrian path. Molly Malone could tell by the neon yellow running shoe dangling off the end of the stretcher that the body belonged to her friend Natasha Jorgenson. A junior congressional staffer, Natasha was on her way to meet with Molly to hand over important research on an international banking bill. Natasha was the third person who knew about the research to die. Molly fears she won't be the last. As she and her colleagues are ta

Nov 25, 2014
By cook or by crook by Corrigan, Maya.

By cook or by crook

Haunted by the car accident that ended her career as a cookbook publicist, Val Deniston has traded in the chaos of New York City for a quieter life near the Chesapeake Bay. Living with her curmudgeonly grandfather in the tourist town of Bayport is hardly glamorous, but she enjoys working at the Cool Down Cafe at the local fitness club, and she finally has time to work on her long-planned cookbook. But when one of the club's patrons is found dead, she'll have to cook up a scheme to find the kille

Nov 25, 2014
Carom shot by Partridge, J. J. (John J.)

Carom shot

Nov 19, 2014
Cattle Kate - a novel by Bommersbach, Jana.

Cattle Kate - a novel

Cattle Kate is the only woman ever lynched as a cattle rustler. History called it 'range land justice' when she was strung up in Wyoming Territory on July 20, 1889, tarring her as a dirty thief and a filthy whore. But history was wrong. It was all a lie. Her real name was Ella Watson. She wasn't a rustler. She wasn't a whore. And she'd never been called Cattle Kate until she was dead and they needed an excuse. She was really a 29-year-old immigrant homesteader, lynched with her husband by her ri

Nov 25, 2014
Chorus lines, caviar, and corpses by McHugh, Mary, author.

Chorus lines, caviar, and corpses

"There's no pussy-footing around murder. It's never too late to kick up your heels. Just ask Tina, Janice, Pat, Mary Louise, and Gini--aka the Happy Hoofers. After posting a video of their tap-dancing routine on the Internet, the leggy ladies find themselves booked to perform on a Russian river cruise up the Volga from Moscow to St. Petersburg. But when murder cuts in, the five fabulous friends find it's not so easy to tap their troubles away. A crew member has been killed, and a passenger is mi

Nov 25, 2014