New Mystery & Detective Books

New arrivals added to our Mystery & Detective Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

Sign up for new Mystery & Detective emails

Titlesort icon Date added
The English boys - a mystery by Thomas, Julia, 1959- author.

The English boys - a mystery

Jun 28, 2016
The diva runs out of thyme by Davis, Krista.

The diva runs out of thyme

Gracious living can be murder. First in an all-new mystery series that includes delicious recipes and great tips on entertaining! Few can compete with Natasha Smith when it comes to entertaining, but her childhood rival, Sophie Winston, certainly tries. Natasha may have stolen the spotlight, and Sophie's husband, but Sophie is determined to rob her of the prize for the Stupendous Stuffing Shakedown. She just needs the right ingredient. But Sophie's search for the perfect turkey takes a basting w

Jun 28, 2016
The devils of Cardona by Carr, Matthew, 1955- author.

The devils of Cardona

"In this gripping historical thriller set in sixteenth-century Spain, a Catholic priest is murdered by a mysterious Muslim avenger as the Inquisition continues to force Moriscos to live and worship as Christians. In March 1584, the priest of Belamar de la Sierra, a small town in Aragon near the French border, is murdered in his own church. Most of the town's inhabitants are Moriscos, former Muslims who converted to Catholicism. Anxious to avert a violent backlash on the eve of a royal visit, an

Jun 28, 2016
The devil's cold dish by Kuhns, Eleanor, author.

The devil's cold dish

"Will Rees is back home on his farm in 1796 Maine with his teenage son, his pregnant wife, their five adopted children, and endless farm work under the blistering summer sun. But for all that, Rees is happy to have returned to Dugard, Maine, the town where he was born and raised, and where he's always felt at home. Until now. When a man is found dead - murdered - after getting into a public dispute with Rees, Rees starts to realize someone is intentionally trying to pin the murder on him. Then,

Jun 28, 2016
The detective & the Chinese high-fin - a John Darvelle mystery by Craven, Michael, 1970- author.

The detective & the Chinese high-fin - a John Darvelle mystery

"A BOURBON STREET BOOK. Michael Craven, author of The Detective & The Pipe Girl, delivers another mystery--for fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen--featuring private detective John Darvelle, who must crack a cold case that pulls him into the high-stakes world of exotic fish collectors"--

Jun 28, 2016
The dead don't bleed - a novel by Krugler, David F., 1969- author.

The dead don't bleed - a novel

"In a gripping World War II mystery set in Washington, D.C., a young naval intelligence officer goes undercover to solve a murder and prevent the Soviets from stealing the secrets of America's atomic bomb project. Washington D.C., 1945. Victory in the war looms, but a new fear transfixes the wartime capital. Fear of communist spies and the atomic secrets they covet. When the corpse of a Navy Intelligence officer is found on a cobblestone back alley, Lt. Voigt is called in to investigate. It's hi

Jun 28, 2016
The darkness knows by Honigford, Cheryl.

The darkness knows

Jun 28, 2016
The cantaloupe thief by Richardson-Moore, Deb, author.

The cantaloupe thief

"A murder mystery set in NE Georgia, USA, and featuring a reporter, Branigan Powers, who is commissioned to investigate a cold case, an unsolved murder of a wealthy widow ten years previously. She enlists the help of Malachi Ezekiel Martin, a homeless man who is both a possible suspect and a possible sleuth: the idea being that homeless people get overlooked, and hence see things that are concealed from the rest of the population. This is the first in an intended series of novels featuring Bran

Jun 28, 2016
That bright land - a novel by Roberts, Terry, 1956- author.

That bright land - a novel

Set in the summer of 1866, a year after the Civil War has ended, That Bright Land is the story of Jacob Ballard, a former Union soldier and spy who's been sent south into the North Carolina mountains to find a serial killer who is carrying out his own private war in an isolated community. His journey also takes him home to the mountains where he was born; as he searches for the killer, he meets a war widow who helps him heal his own wounds and make peace with his past. Based on true events, That

Jun 28, 2016
Terminal by Karp, Marshall

Terminal

Jun 28, 2016
Take the Monkey and Run by Morrigan, Laura

Take the Monkey and Run

Jun 28, 2016
Swimsuit body - a Cypress Bay mystery by Goudge, Eileen, author.

Swimsuit body - a Cypress Bay mystery

With a Hollywood movie about to start filming in the California seaside town of Cypress Bay, Tish Ballard, owner of Rest Easy Property Management, welcomes her first celebrity tenant. Delilah Ward isn't your typical beautiful, spoiled actress; she's America s sweetheart. Even Tish is charmed by the young star, which makes her gruesome discovery of Delilah's bloodied corpse all the more gut-wrenching. When someone near and dear to Tish is named a person of interest, the fearless property manager

Jun 28, 2016
Survivors will be shot again - a Dan Rhodes mystery by Crider, Bill, 1941- author.

Survivors will be shot again - a Dan Rhodes mystery

"Life is never easy for Sheriff Dan Rhodes. Even in a small Texas county, there's always something going on for a sheriff to look into, whether it's an attempted robbery, a marijuana patch guarded by an alligator, or a murder. This time the murdered man seems to be connected to a string of recent burglaries, but just how isn't easy to figure out. It takes some time and another murder before Sheriff Rhodes discovers the answers.Survivors Will Be Shot Again, Bill Crider's latest installment in the

Jun 28, 2016
Straw man - a Jack McMorrow mystery by Boyle, Gerry, 1956- author.

Straw man - a Jack McMorrow mystery

"It's business as usual for crime reporter Jack McMorrow, which means trouble has once again come to the quaint country town of Prosperity, Maine. A good deed goes bad when McMorrow and his buddies, war heroes Clair and Louis, tangle with local criminals only to soon find themselves pitted against a vicious stalker. His troubles get worse when a story on private gun sales lands Jack smack-dab in the center of a controversy involving cyber-crime, illegal guns-for-drugs trade, and the death of a y

Jun 28, 2016
Stealing the Countess by Housewright, David, 1955- author.

Stealing the Countess

Since becoming an unlikely millionaire and quitting the St. Paul Police Department, Rushmore McKenzie has been working as an unlicensed private investigator, basically doing favors for friends and people in need. But even for him, this latest job is unusual. He's been asked to find a stolen Stradivarius, known as the Countess Borromeo, that only the violinist seems to want him to find. Stolen from a locked room in a B&B in the violinist's former hometown of Bayfield, Wisconsin, the violin is val

Jun 28, 2016
St. Louis Noir by Phillips, Scott (EDT)

St. Louis Noir

Jun 28, 2016
Sorrow road by Keller, Julia.

Sorrow road

"From the small towns of Appalachia they came, the young men who joined the fight for liberty in World War II. Now they are elderly, and some of them--like Harmon Strayer, father of prosecutor Bell Elkins's former law school classmate--suffer from Alzheimer's. When Harmon dies in an Alzheimer's care facility from what appear to be natural causes, Bell confronts a mystery that brims with questions about memory, grief and the lethal cost of burying the past. During a winter of record snow and cold

Jun 28, 2016
Sleeping Beauty killer by Clark, Mary Higgins

Sleeping Beauty killer

Jun 28, 2016
Sister Eve and the Blue Nun by Hinton, Lynne, author.

Sister Eve and the Blue Nun

"When Sister Eve returns to the monastery, the last thing she expects there is murder. After solving several mysteries with her father at the Divine Private Detective Agency, Sister Eve finds herself torn between her calling as a nun and the thrill that comes with detecting. She knows she's been using her father's health as an excuse to extend her leave of absence from the monastery, but that excuse is running thin. She prays that a return visit to the monastery for a conference on the Blue Nun

Jun 23, 2016
Sidney Chambers and the dangers of temptation by Runcie, James, 1959- author.

Sidney Chambers and the dangers of temptation

Collects six new stories featuring the priest and part-time detective Sidney Chambers, in which he helps a youth in a hippie commune, a student who is divested of a family heirloom, and his former curate, who has been tied to an arson attack.

Jun 28, 2016